Demand discount for lousy upload speeds & gps problems


Last Updated:

  1. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46
    Just got off the phone with the Sprint's retention department, and demanded a discount based on the reasons listed below. Didn't get anywhere so asked to speak to a supervisor. Supervisor said tech support must note your account of any known issues first. Called tier two tech support and they noted my account of the below known issues. Called the retention department back, and I got the $10 extra data fee taken off my first months bill. I'll do the same thing next month, if the issues listed below are not fixed.

    If everyone starts doing this, maybe it will light a fire under Samsung's and Sprint's tail, and hopefully bring about a quicker resolution.


    "The Epic 4G's terrible upload speeds are becoming notorious among Epic users on support and Android forums. It is in fact the primary topic on every Epic 4G forum I've visited. Nearly everyone who traded in their Evo is reporting that other phones they own upload much faster than the Epic -- from the iPhone to the G1 to the ancient Palm Treo. All report higher upload speeds than the Epic 4G *with* $10 subscriber fee guaranteeing "advanced features" when they don't even have reliable voice and data service. This is a very real problem.

    Users on forums are constantly checking their speed and posting indoor upload rates of less than 150 kbps -- sometimes even 000 kbps. For many, even the download rate is unusable.


    Many people are very sad about having to return the Epic for the Evo, because the Epic can do far more, has a querty keyboard, an amazing processor and that gorgeous S AMOLED screen.


    I can live with semi-accurate GPS (though I'm not happy about it). What I can't live without is reliable data and voice service on 3G while paying an extra $10 a month for 4G service that doesn't even exist in my city. Samsung and Sprint need to prioritize this problem before customers' refund/exchange period runs out. If users realized how bad their reception really is on what's touted as being the most advanced smartphone in current use, Sprint and Samsung might face a digital riot. They should really sort this issue before that happens.


    One last thing. Users are also reporting that their upload complaints to Sprint are getting filed as very individual, very separate reports with no cross-referencing. The result is that when Sprint customers call to report upload problems with the Epic 4G, they're told that no other users have reported this issue and that there are no corroborating complaints. I urge Sprint reps to pay attention to the Epic 4G subforums on Android Forums and Mobile Forums as well as to this thread. As long as this thread (yes, this one) exists on Sprint user forums, customer service reps and IT have no business telling Epic users that this issue doesn't exist and hasn't been reported. Have a look, Spint and Samsung: Chain of users with corroborating evidence re bad Epic uploads present and documented right here, right now. Pay attention and don't blow us off."

     

    Advertisement
  2. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'll agree with some of that..... but the DL speeds are not unusable. Upload capped.... but DL is definitely good.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    Agreed. I pulled that post off another website. But the lousy upload and gps along are enough of a reason to get the $10 premium data charge removed, until they straighten it out.
     
  4. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    How did you get tech support to agree to that? Did you have to go through all the bogus caned fixes with them first? I don't want to have to hard reset and lose everything for something they should already be well aware of.
     
  5. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46

    Call this number, it's the direct line to tier two tech support. 1-877-735-8405

    Tell them that you know the lousy upload speeds and gps bugs are known issues, and that you want your account noted as such. Then call Sprint's customer service line, and follow the prompts to: I wish to disconnect service, which is there retention department. They are the only ones who'll give you the discount. Tell them you're NOT paying the extra premium data charge, if you're not getting premium service. Threaten to disconnect if need be, they'll give it to you.
     
  6. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the process with tech support. I asked if he was a tier two tech and he said there is no such thing but that there were different techs for different phones.

    The BS these people come up with is amazing.

    So he has had me update PRL, then profile and then remove/replace battery. blah,blah,blah......

    I will tell him to note the account and then call the retention department afterwards and tell them I will not be paying the $10 fee also. See what happens I guess. I am skeptical but I am also not sending the extra $20 for both epics.

    Of course no one else has had this problem..... oh wait now a handful of people have. LOL
     
  7. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK so I was on the phone with Omar from the retention service for an hour. Omar of course has never heard of the problem. So I informed him of the problem. Omar was very cool and receptive, he actually had a internet connection unlike any other sprint tech I have talked to.

    I had him go to the sprint community website and he was shocked to see the complaints on the Epic 4G. So he said he had no explanation for the problem and that everything I had said was correct.

    I stated that I want the $10 fee waived at least until the upload problem was fixed and he said that he had no way of doing that. He said I would have to talk to his supervisor and she would have the possible capability of waiving the fee.

    I feel I will not be able to get the fee waived because I still have a service contract with sprint and the 2 Epic's I bought were a upgrade. Boo....

    I feel the best I will be able to get is return the phone and wait to see if the problem gets fixed.

    Keep the phone and hope it gets fixed, all the while paying more for less.


    Or say screw it and pay them $20 less a month and see what happens.

    I would like to do the latter but will more than likely lose due to signing and initializing a contract. Maybe I will return the phones and then cross out all the parts about the $10 fee in the contract and see what happens.
     
  8. Aero1

    Aero1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    58
    I am betting we see a fix and soon, because this is making a mess of their corporate messaging on what the $10 fee is. I now have half a dozen upper level tech support staff and retentions staffs telling me there 3G upload is irrelevant to the fee because it is for 4G service -- something which sprint's public statements emphatically and directly deny.

    It looks like today they went through their own thread on their site and began editing and removing moderator statements on the issue. I bet they are worried about $10 times a couple of months times a few hundred thousand people as the issue is prime class action bait.

    I am willing to generally cut them some slack and give it time, and even can understand the (non)answers people are getting from support, but I cannot see them sustaining it it for too long without some public statement, hopefully with a fix inside of a couple of weeks.
     
  9. ragnarokx

    ragnarokx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wonder if they'll give me this discount even though I have a recurring $20 off my monthly bill?
     
  10. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46
    No doubt the reason they're not waving the $10 fee, is because you"re in a contract.
    This should make you eligible for the inevitable class action lawsuit coming down the pipe.
     
  11. gme109

    gme109 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    46
    A about a month or so ago, when I was inquiring about Sprint's service plans, and the Epic, and asked them what the $10 fee was for. They were adamant that it was not for 4G service, but rather the super duper fast processor, and fast down and upload speeds. Today on the phone, when I pointed out that their non $10 fee phones had faster upload speeds and fully functioning gps, they pulled out the 4G card, and I about lost it! Of course I threw that right back in the supervisors face. That's when she said if I could get someone from tech support to note my account about known issues that crippled the phone, I could get some sort of adjustment.
     
    dan330 likes this.
  12. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well my account was noted by tech support, or supposedly it was, and I just got off the phone with Angela after sending a email to the dan@sprint.com.

    She said I would be granted a $20 refund for the month (because I have two epics) only if I returned the phones before the 30 period.

    I am in a pickle because I already sold my wifes moment. I guess I'll just have to buy her another phone off of craigslist until this mess is cleared up.

    I still want to be passive aggressive and keep the phone and then just not send in the extra money. I know where that will lead though.
     
  13. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dear Mr. Perry,


    Thank you for contacting Dan@Sprint.com. We spoke earlier this morning
    on your mobile number (xxx) xxx-xxxx and reviewed your concerns with the
    Samsung Epic. The purpose of this email is to briefly recap our
    interaction.

    Per your email and our discussion this morning, you have expressed your
    apprehension with the GPS application and the upload speed of your
    Samsung Epic device. I can certainly understand your thoughts and would
    like to extend my most humble apologies for your frustrations or any
    inconvenience you may have experienced. Our records show that the
    software and GPS application are performing within normal parameters. I
    will, however, gladly forward and document your feedback for internal
    review.

    You have requested that we waive the $10 premium data fee on both mobile
    numbers (xxx) xxx-xxxx and (xxx) xxx-xxxx until a repair has been
    provided for the upload speed. As I mentioned during our interaction,
    the $10 premium data fee is associated with the Samsung Epic and the many data enriched features that this device offers which is not limited
    to the upload speed. Since you are within your 30 days of purchase and
    do not wish to pay the $10 premium data fee, you are free to return the
    devices. If you decide to return the devices, I have offered to issue
    you a one-time credit of $20 upon receipt of the return.

    Mr. Perry, per your request, I have escalated your concern to a member
    of my management team. With your agreement, you can expect to receive a
    callback at 11:00 AM on September 22, 2010. I sincerely appreciate your
    time and the opportunity to address your concerns. If I may be of any
    assistance in the future, please feel free to submit a new email to
    Dan@Sprint.com or contact me at (757) 223-3124. My office hours are
    Tuesday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST and Saturday from
    8:00 AM to 12:00 PM EST.

    Thank you for your continued business with Sprint. Have a great day!


    Sincerely,
    Angela G.
    (757) 223-3124
    Sprint

    Get the best value for your money & exercise your freedom
    to change plans anytime without penalties - we promise!
    Sprint Base Plans Hub

    Sprint.com is all about you! My Sprint puts what you want to know,
    right at your fingertips -- take a tour and sign up today!
    www.sprint.com/mysprint

    Original Message Follows:
    ------------------------
    Dan,

    Hi am writing to you today to convey my concern over a
    problem with 2 new epic phones I have purchased. The phones upload of
    data seems to be capped at or about 150kbps. There are many forums
    including one on the sprint website with multiple complaints about this
    and the lack of accuracy of the GPS.

    The topic on your (SPRINT) website
    Samsung Epic:3G Upload Capped?

    Multiple forums confirming problem

    Slashdot Mobile Story | Users Say Sprint Epic4G 3G Upload Speeds Limited To 150kbps


    Did you test your upload speed on 3g? - Android Forums


    anyone else not getting above 150KBPS uploads on 3g? - xda-developers

    http://androidforums.com/samsung-epic-4g/166945-lousy-down-up-load-speed-3g.html



    So with all that information it
     
  14. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    My favorite line is:

    As I mentioned during our interaction,
    the $10 premium data fee is associated with the Samsung Epic and the many data enriched features that this device offers which is not limited
    to the upload speed.

    So don't expect a miracle, they are going to weasel that fee no matter what. I like the phone and will give it this next week for the Froyo update, but if it doesn't come or doesn't fix the upload then that is a deal breaker for me.

    I will return the phone as I will not pay the $10 fee for lessened service. As a matter of fact I may not renew my contract with Sprint at all. I cant see winning any sort of argument for not paying the $10 fee as we all agreed to it by signing the contract. I suggest sending your phone back to them if you can before the 30 days is up.
     
  15. unknown zone

    unknown zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is from the Sprint Forum, the poster is "Sprint Admin":

    418. Sep 22, 2010 Posted in response to: annaliza45
    Re: 3G Upload Capped?
    Here is the response from the Sprint Device Product Management team:

    We have heard reports of users experiencing less-than-expected 3G upload speeds with their Samsung Epic 4G. After extensive investigation, Sprint and Samsung have identified an enhancement that may improve upload speeds on the Epic. This fix will be made available in the next maintenance release. It’s important to note that network speeds are impacted by many factors when using commercially-available speed test applications and test results may or may not be true indicator of the actual network performance.
     
  16. Aero1

    Aero1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    58
     
  17. Bperry

    Bperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now if we could only get this pissed off at taxes and BS legislature!
     
  18. flonkas

    flonkas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    13
    Haha good work guys :)
     
  19. boomerbubba

    boomerbubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    40
    Regarding the Sprint statement, it is a giant step forward to get that much of an acknowledgement of the problem. The final step would be to grant a discretionary extension of the customers' trial period to accommodate the time for the fix. (I understand from another post that you got such an extension.) If I am not so fortunate, I still am inclined to bail on the contract.

    Otherwise, by Sprint's terms, the company is asking me to commit to a contract on the optimistic speculation that the defect "may" be fixed in the future. If I cut them slack and trust them to make the fix, they should reciprocate with an extension of my trial.
     
  20. Aero1

    Aero1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    58
    I can understand that fully. I think the public pressure and even their own statement will get the data speed it fixed. if not there is going to be a class action sure as the sun rises. I am not so sure about GPS, it think that will be user fixes (and more are needed)
    I am more ticked off about the $10 fee because I am paying it 3x on three epics, all getting slower speeds up and down) than a rusty 800w on SERO, that has class action written all over it as well.
    And before anyone say our contacts mandate mediation and specify no class actions -- they have for 15 years had that "no class actions" and it has been successfully overturned by users on other issues and sprint has had to payout class actions. I know I was in one.
    I intend to get my $10/monthx3 for the period Epic is stuck on rev0, by being sweet or if needed, a hard case, at some point.
     
  21. Stringyquark

    Stringyquark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have had the Epic 4G for two weeks now. I really love this phone! Onion news is so cool. I had a Sidekick3 for the last year or so, and the epic is just amazing in comparison. BUT.... these GPS issues... not only will it apparently always report at 30M resolution, i pretty sure that it will not work standalone. Which means if you're lost in the dessert or woods or wherever, and you have a phone but are not on the network the GPS WILL NOT WORK. I believed this was one of the main functions of a GPS. even if it is aGPS i did not think this meant only aGPS. many of my friends phones work just fine in airplane mode but not my epic. (although being in airplane mode on my epic might disable GPS, i turned GPS on the satellite dish blinked and i left it for 20 min and boy did that phone heat up) Also this update (that I've heard about that's might be out soon) seems like it only addresses upload speeds and nothing for the GPS. since it kinda works there just trying to sweep it under the rug. i only got about a week and I am going to the sprint store on Friday to see what we can do but i think I am going to have to return my phone and I think I'm going to cry because it's such a cool toy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...