Difference between screen lock and sleep mode


Last Updated:

  1. inaz4sun

    inaz4sun Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is there any difference between locking the screen (screen being off) and "sleep mode"? If there is, is there a way to force not to go into sleep mode, but have the screen off?
     

    Advertisement
  2. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    there is a option in settings > applications > development > stay awake, but i think the screen stays on as well. maybe if you press the lock button with this option selected the screen will turn off, but i don't know cause to be honest i have never used this setting. why may i ask do you want to do this? it's for development, as it implies, and it will drain down your battery fast.
     
  3. inaz4sun

    inaz4sun Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Troubleshooting the corrupted SD card issue. Iin doing some testing yesterday I found that when I unlocked the screen with the side button the screen came on and the "preparing your SD card" notification came on, and then corrupted card message. So I was wondering if in "sleep" mode it turns off access to the SD card, then on "wake" it reconnects. This can cause the corruption of the card as I believe I have narrowed down this issue to when the card mounts/unmounts, and if something like that is happening in sleep mode, then I would definitely want to avoid it. I do have the "Stay Awake" while charging option selected. I'm still curious if stay away and the screen lock are two distinct things.
     
  4. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    But the thing is many of us including myself have never had this issue so looking for a all incompessing fix might not be the answer, but I wish you luck.
     
  5. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    57
    I think its just a bad batch of cards. This wouldn't be the first time I've heard of bad micro SD cards, even from the big manufacturers. I've used my 3 year old Sandisk 8 GB since day one, and never had a problem.
     
  6. inaz4sun

    inaz4sun Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    The thing is, the card that came with the phone works fine. The card I purchased separately does not. Trying to find out why and see if we can discover if there is more at work than just the cards (since they seem to work fine in another device) I think it is a combination of cards and the phone/OS.
     
  7. aequitas3

    aequitas3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    44
    have you tried to find out if the card is formatted to the right type?
     

Share This Page

Loading...