Eris ProblemsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    This problem seems to only happen when I shut down my phone and turn it back on.
    So, what happens is when my phone turns back on and I wait a few seconds I get force close notifications for the phone, contacts, and all other apps (all stock) that are used to run the phone properly.
    I really need a solution or at the least some insight as to why this is happening.
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Did this just start happening? If so, what apps have you recently installed? The obvious question everyone expects me to ask.....are you running a task killer?
     
  3. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, I am running a task killer(TasKiller) and have downloaded only apps in the market place(period, i don't trust anything off market) that have a rating of three stars or higher and read the comments for most.
    I have the TasKiller set to manual kills and it does not kill on lock/power off.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    The reason that I asked about apps is that even apps in the market can cause problems. If you have one that is conflicting with some of the stock apps then that would be your problem. Since the market is wide open, any app can be put out there for people to install. I have found a few apps that have caused conflicts with other apps on my phone. The reason I asked about the task killer is that some people use auto settings and don't block/ignore processes. If this did just start happening I would start looking at some of the new apps you have installed. You may want to start with the most recent and remove it. Then restart the phone and see if the problem continues. If it does then move on to the next app and do the same.
     
  5. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's been happening ever since I got the phone. I think maybe January 2nd is the first time (got the phone for x-mas so about a week after). I have 188 apps on the phone and it seems that as long as I don't shut the phone down it's fine. I just uninstalled the Task Killer app.
     
  6. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    188 apps!!! :eek: WOW!!! I don't have that many programs on my PC.:D

    Aside from possible app conflictions, you're more than likely running low on memory. Go under Settings-> SD card & phone storage-> Internal memory storage: Available space. What's it say?

    I get force close issues when memory runs below 27MB on mine.
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    Umm yea 188 is A LOT of apps to have on your phone. Like hookem said, take a loot at how much memory you have left.

    When you restart/turn on the phone everything on the phone starts running. The reason you are probably getting force closes from those apps is that they can't run with all the other stuff trying to start up.

    I would also recommend double checking your for size. Some of the apps you have installed as well as the stock apps are going to store cache. It will also help to clear that.
     
  8. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    So now my phone is completely screwed, the battery died while I was out and shut off on me, I charged it while it was off, went to go turn it back on and now it wont go past the HTC screen when you first turn on the phone. So is there a way I could factory reset my phone from the computer?
     
  9. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    188 apps? how did you do that? i have like 78 or something and only have 30megs left...

    my dads phone was doing some thing similar to this i fixed it buy taking a few things out of his autotask killer that the verizion guy installed for him....

    i get random calls from him... "this phone sucks" lol he just takes time to get used to technology. i laugh at him but heck hes in his 60's rockin an Eris
     
  10. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm sorry, I made a mistake, it's not 188 apps it's 188 processes.
     
  11. xScorch Muffinx

    xScorch Muffinx Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    6
    I called Verizon, they told me to reset my phone. And it's working fine now. I must have downloaded a bad app or something, idk. Thanks for the help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...