Even Easier Root?General


Last Updated:

  1. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4

    Advertisement
  2. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    I haven't seen any confirmations of it actually working on an eris yet.
     
  3. sabakawasaki

    sabakawasaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    will this work with leak?
     
  4. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    apparently it will. it does work with an eris. they say. i did it another way. this one looks easiest though
     
  5. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    has anyone here actually used this to root?
     
  6. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Only person I know who's tried it said it didn't work:

     
  7. meatwad

    meatwad Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have not tried it but I can tell you that the one that was mentioned in other posts was extremely painless for me. I was rooted and running EvilEris3.0 in about 25 minutes.
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yes this. For me it took more an hour and a half, but that's because I was one of the early adopters that used the instructions and files that weren't entirely fixed yet.
     
  9. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    I used the process posted a few days ago for mac, the one line command :D, and I was rooted running KaosFroyo in about 5 minutes. Who needs an easier way than typing one command??
     
  10. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    What one line command is this? The one like runinlinux.sh?
     
  11. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Yup, the mac one was different than the windows one tho
     
  12. mikey517

    mikey517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    9
    Could someone point me in the direction of the that thread (on step rooting for Mac) ? I am on a MacBook Pro, & my head is about to explode from reading all this root stuff, which assumes that I have even a basic idea of what I'm doing!:p
     
    deezer likes this.
  13. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    You might want to PM surgeon0214 if you have any questions. Smart kid, and he uses Mac, and was successful. Did I just sell you out surgeon? ;)
     
  14. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Haha nope, I'm happy to help anyone out
     
  15. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    Here is the link for the tutorial: Root for ERIS LEAKERS! - xda-developers
    Just download the "hack-v4.zip", put the contents of it in your SDK tools folder, and follow the instructions from there. Pretty self-explanetory, but if you need help just PM me like bishop said.

    PS. to change directories to the tools folder, type "cd" space and then drag the tools folder from finder into the terminal window. Then when you are executing the shell command, make sure you type "./" before sh. It should look like this: ./sh runinlinuxadb.sh {ENTER}
     
    mikey517 likes this.
  16. Brainfart

    Brainfart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can unrevoked3 simply root the Eris and not load custom roms? I want to root having only SU on the phone at this time without wiping anything now. Or is there an easier way to only root and not install a new rom without wiping? I looked at the link that surgeon0214 posted and I'm a little lost cause I am new at this. Any suggestions would help greatly.

    Also if anyone knows can the unrevoked3 method only root and not have to wipe the phone? My son just Rooted his Incredible. He tried the unrevoked3 method and could not get it to work for his phone. I hope I'm making sense lol.
     
  17. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    I understand what you are trying to do, get root without wiping everything right? well the way to get root for any process will wipe your settings/phone. For me, nothing on my SD Card was touched but just in case I keep a folder of everything on my SD Card on my mac.
     
  18. Brainfart

    Brainfart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes I want to root without wiping anything. Ok so it will wipe if I root period. The way my son rooted his incredible did not wipe anything it just added SuperUser. I guess there is no way to do this on the Eris?

    Is there a way to back up everything the way my phone is including settings before I attempt to root? I am on a PC if I didn't mention before.
    Everywhere I searched there are no real tutorials on how to do this and rooting explained in a lay-mans term should I say. Even on XDA I could not find a Tutorial.

    I guess I can try that unrevoked3 method and see what happens. OH the main thing that I'm concerned about is will I still be able to receive OTA updates as long as I stay with the stock rom? I just want to make sure I will be able to go back to stock if needed for any reason(witch I don't see happening but just in case)
     
  19. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    check the "all things root" subforum. root w/o rom thread.. i got root the other day w/o wiping anything. others have too
     
    Brainfart likes this.
  20. Brainfart

    Brainfart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome thanks heading there now.
     
  21. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm really having a hard time understanding why people are so reluctant to load a new ROM or have to wipe data. Pretty much every ROM available is better than stock 2.1. If you you do a factory reset, you don't really lose anything other than settings. Your contacts are backed up on google, your apps will be waiting for you in the market when you're done flashing, and pictures/songs are all stored on the sd card which isn't touched even in a full wipe. OTA's will be cooked into the updates of any ROM, and as far as I know, you're always able to go back to stock, unrooted 2.1 if warranty issues ever come up.

    Is there some new phobia that I'm unaware of? :p

    (I'm really not trying to be mean. I just don't see any downside to trying out a new/different/improved ROM)
     
  22. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I think I understand where they're coming from. It's still time-consuming to get everything set up again, and they just sort of want to get their toes wet first before diving in. With the old root method we didn't have that luxury.

    Also this allows them, for instance, to install a program like Titanium Backup, backup all their apps and data, and then restore that stuff on the next ROM that they flash.
     
  23. v941726

    v941726 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    4
    thats how it was for me. titanium backup is key. having to redo everything can be a real pain. very time consuming
     
  24. Brainfart

    Brainfart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK im confused on how to flash the hackv-4 and the engtools3 to root.

    Yes thenestor thats exactly how i feel.

    is using that way(hackv & engtools3) easier or is using unrevoked3 easier? Also will both get the same result(root with super user)?
    I know im a super noob at this and really want to learn how to do this but there are really no step by step tutorials on how to do it. I would root my phone tonight if I understood it better and make sure I can get this latest OTA patch for my Eris.
    I know it sounds like I don't know much about these type of things but I have done everything from hack my xbox360,modchip my wii and other stuff.


    OK this is a cut & paste from XDA " you can just flash EngTools.zip, courtesy of jcase, and it will add su and superuser.apk without disturbing your existing data (apps, settings, etc)."

    How do I flash this to my phone? I have searched all over on how to do this and came up blank?
     
  25. surgeon0214

    surgeon0214 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    76
    First, put the engtools.zip on your sd card, and then after running the commands to get into recovery instead of flashing a custom ROM you flash the EngTools.zip
     

Share This Page

Loading...