• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Evo 4G won't unroot

ric221

Jan 9, 2011
rooted with unrevoked3. rooted fine. trying to unroot phone to get a issue looked at, but phone won't unroot. have tried the unroot steps posted in rooting for dummies, but still won't unroot. any help or tricks would be greatly welcomed.
T I A
4got 2 add i'm new to this

Let me see if I understand what you're saying. You successfully got s-on, but are now trying to flash PC36IMG.zip from recovery? That file should be recognized in hboot, not recovery. Or are you still trying to get s-on?
this is how i have done the unrooting process what steps do i not need to do

BEFORE UNROOTING
  • Make sure you UNFREEZE any frozen apps with Titanium Backup.

STEP 1: DOWNLOAD
Download both the PC36IMG.zip and the S-On Tool to your PC Desktop. DO NOT EXTRACT
(NOTE: Make sure the file is named PC36IMG.zip exactly. Some Windows OS hide any extensions by default; so make sure it is not named PC36IMG.zip.zip when you rename it.)

STEP 2: MICRO USB
Connect your device to your PC with the Micro USB cord.

STEP 3: DISK DRIVE
Chang your charging options to Disk Drive.
Menu > Setting > Connect to PC > Default Connection Type > Disk Drive > Done

STEP 4: S-ON TOOL TO SDCARD
Transfer unrevoked-forever-son.zip to the ROOT of your SDCard.
(Do not transfer the PC36IMG.zip yet)

STEP 5: TURN OFF DEVICE
Power down the device by holding the Power Button for 2 seconds. Allow it to shutdown completely. Wait about 10 seconds before next step.

STEP 6: RECOVERY MODE
Hold down VOL DOWN + POWER until device boots into a White Screen.
Move to RECOVERY by using the VOL DOWN toggle and select by using POWER button.

STEP 7: FLASH ZIP
Select unrevoked-foreverson.zip in the selection area and press POWER button to complete the FLASH.

STEP 8: IS S-ON, ON?