Factory data reset to install FroyoSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    I removed a bunch of bloatware a couple weeks ago after I installed the one click root tool. Now I can't upgrade my phone to 2.2 with the update.zip file because I have removed the bloatware. I'm getting the Error 7 code. Is there any way that I can just restore this to the complete factory settings and automatically restore any bloatware so the 2.2 update will work?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes. boot into recovery, do a data wipe, boot into bootloader mode, flash it with the .sbf, root it, move su from system/bin to system/xbin (using root explorer) and then load the update.

    if you have any other questions, please dont hesitate to ask.

    instructions on how to use (and download) the .sbf can be found here (highlighted, near the bottom):

    http://rootzwiki.com/index.php/Smartphones/Motorola/Droid-X/Droid-X.html


     
  3. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    I understand everything there except the "flash it with the .sbf" part... Are there any instructions out there on this?
     
  4. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes, click that link, go to about the middle of the page, and they're all highlighted in yellow. that will put your phone to stock 2.1. the instructions are pretty good on how to flash it. just make sure you do a data wipe first.

    to put the phone in bootloader mode (after you've wiped), hold the camera and volume down buttons, and power on. you will see some white lettering on the left telling you to connect with usb. after you have downloaded the RSD, installed the drivers, moved the .ini file, you can open the program, locate the .sbf file, and click start. this will flash it back to stock.


    here are the instructions (credit to rootzwiki):
    32Bit Drivers or 64Bit Drivers are with the sbf above.​
    SBF (Zipped)
    Credit to MyDroidWorld for RSD Lite.​
    SBF INSTRUCTIONS: Install the RSDLite 4.7 program by double clicking on the program.
    Move the pst_flash.ini file into the following folder --> Program Files/Motorola/RSDLite​
    2. Install the drivers that apply to your Operating System.​
    3. Unzip the SBF into a folder.​
    4. Open RSD Lite and find the UNZIPPED SBF​
    5. Put your Motorola Droid X in bootloader mode. Now connect the Droid X via usb.​
    6. Click start and sit back.​
     
    mattstud36 likes this.
  5. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm giving it a try now. I'll let you know how it goes. Thank you for the info!
     
  6. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    sure. if you find that the start button is greyed out on the RSD, rename the sbf to dx.sbf. it took me forever to figure this out, but i finally took a shot in the dark, and it worked. if you follow those steps, it should go fine.

    if you dont know how to get into recovery mode to do the wipe, just hold home+power, and when the screen pops up, hit search.
     
    mattstud36 likes this.
  7. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok... so I did the wipe, and in the RSD program I'm getting the following error:

    Failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. (0x7100); phone connected


    Any ideas?
     
  8. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes, did you move the pst_flash.ini to replace the old one into the Program Files/Motorola/RSDLite folder?

    if so, did you install the correct drivers?

    when your phone is plugged in, do you see it in the first row in the RSD program?
     
  9. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I did replace the .ini file, installed the x64 drivers (which are correct for win 7 64 bit) and the phone is listed in row #1 in the RSD program.

    I was looking elsewhere online, and some have said that the RSD program may need to be run in Compatibility Mode and Run as Administrator. I've tried that, too, with no luck.
     
  10. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here is a screenshot of my RSD program:

    http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/4904/15574357.jpg
     
  11. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    i actually think i came across that. maybe try restarting the phone and RSD, and see what happens.

    + see my edit above. a couple more ideas.
     
  12. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried that, too. I did notice that it leaves an error log file. Here is what mine says:

    ------------------------------------------

    20:52:53, August 22, 2010
    Line: 865
    ERROR: \\?\c:\users\matt\desktop\x\dx.sbf
     
  13. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    or actually, i remember, i moved the sbf file to the desktop. that is what did it for me.
     
  14. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm.... still getting the same error. Crap! I guess I'll have to wait for the official release from VZW.
     
  15. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    i am sure someone here has the answer. i'm sure they will chime in. try maybe moving it to the root of the C: drive.

    if that fails, maybe just keep trying to move the files around. or, go into the control panel, and into programs, and uninstall the drivers and re-install them. i know it's lookin like i'm just guessing right now, but RSD can be really finickey, and doing stupid stuff like that usually makes it eventually work.

    i see someone else had success moving it to the My Documents folder
     
  16. mattstud36

    mattstud36 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried that one, too, but it didn't work, either. I really appreciate you trying to help out!
     
  17. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    im trying to search everywhere, and it seems like lots of people are having that problem.
    as silly as it sounds, maybe try another USB port? does the bootloader text change? or does it always just say the same thing (something about connect with usb)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...