Factory reset ?General


Last Updated:

  1. bcltoys

    bcltoys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    47
    Can a factory reset be done after root.
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    Yes, but as you'll be "resetting" the phone you will lose root.
     
  3. tr11

    tr11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does that mean to unroot we can just factory reset and not have to go through the unrooting steps if we need to send our phone in for repair?
     
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    No, that is not correct. A factory reset clears user data and settings, including things like your google login, contacts, and downloaded "market" apps. It does not alter the system software (including preinstalled apps), however. There is no way that it can turn one ROM into a different ROM.

    No. See above - you need to return the phone to the stock system software, recovery boot, and bootloader (in some cases).

    bcltoys - the "factory reset" which occurs on a rooted phone is similar to what happens on a stock phone, in the sense that it clears settings and data back to a blank slate, but it leaves the system software and preinstalled apps untouched - kind of as if you had just installed the same ROM. The other thing which does not happen with a phone that has a custom recovery installed is that the phone activation also does not get cleared.

    HTH,

    eu1
     
    bcltoys likes this.
  5. bcltoys

    bcltoys Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    47
    Well i wanted to do the reset to see if it would bring back my signal bars but it did not I know to look in settings for my rssi but not having the bars is annoying.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Hi bcltoys. Please read ErisUser1's post to you carefully; that's the straight scoop on what needs to be done.

    As far as the signal bars, are you experiencing poor signal with calls, etc, or are you just not seeing bars there even though the phone is working fine? Going through unrooting and then a factory data reset just to avoid an annoyance is a choice you may make, but I would not. ;)

    The signal bar display may or may not improve with a reset, we're seen varying reports on success with that.

    If it's poor call quality (dropped or missed calls, etc) then the reset is still an iffy attempted remedy, but I'd do it in that situation just to be sure.

    Be sure to look at:

    http://androidforums.com/474953-post1.html

    in:

    http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...ated-links-updated-oct-1-2010-4-44pm-est.html

    and then, once back to stock, go to menu > settings > privacy > factory data reset.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...