• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Few questions before i make my purchase

xopher

Lurker
Aug 17, 2010
I recently visited a store and they introduced me to this monster. I was very pleased by what the sales rep had to say so i decided to look into purchasing one this coming saturday. After doing some research, i knew this was going to be a choice i will not regret (purchased a few SEs without doing any research :mad:). I am planning to buy this phone without a contract then unlocking it so i can run it on my normal cellphone plan w/o a data plan. The reason behind this is because i am a full time student and i am always in a place with free wireless internet so there is no need at the moment.

Before i make this purchase, i have a few questions i would like to ask the people who have this phone or own an android phone.

Does not having camera flash really cause an issue for taking pictures? (I live in Canada so theres no way we are going to get the 4G version with the full qwerty and camera flash unless i import.)

Does browsing the web without a flash player cause any unforeseen issues (I know theres a youtube app)?

How does the GPS function on this phone work? (I was thinking about replacing my garmin with this)

Will i make certain functions in the phone useless because i don't have a data plan? (eg GPS)

What are pros and cons of having a data plan?

Are there any issues with this phone i should know about? (From what ive heard, other than lacking flash and some issue with the GPS, this phone is pretty solid)

Are there any MUST GET apps i should take a look at? (Ive been googling around and i think the taskiller, and the home one are on the top of my "to get" list)

How ill updating to android 2.2 OS work?

Any input will be greatly appreciated!

Welcome :)

You might have different answers to your questions depending of what use is done of the phone.