• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

First review.

Papamalo

Android Enthusiast
Jan 14, 2011
Oakland
NOTE: There will probably be a lot more detailed and glitzy review features than you will find here on my humble page. I am just doing this for posterity, since when I was an android newbie, this place was where where I got my start in understanding android devices and features. Thanks!

Xiaomi Mi Mix 2.

NOTE: My phone shipped with MiUi Global 9.1 stable. ROM 9.1.2.0 (NDEMIEI)
If you are a "Flooter" (A part of the flash n' root crowd) you might want to make sure your edition comes with this latest global ROM, as some phones ship without it, forcing you to go through a fastboot app and a couple of others hoops before rendering it fully rootable.

The phone itself is a really nice tactile experience, even when the inexpensive plastic case that comes with it is on it. Even after seeing several reviews I'm still impressed by the bezeless surface, and the back ceramic back and edges just feel very luxurious to my hand.

Feature wise, since I have not taken the Sim chip out of my old phone and started using this one as an actual daily driver yet, I was impressed by the speed right out of the gate, which is no surprise, since I'm getting a 3 GB bump up from my Motorola Moto X pure, which only had 3 GB of RAM. The phone is speedy and responsive like a Ferrari. On the other hand I could be waxing poetic because this is probably the first phone of this kind that I have purchased or held frame the time. Regardless, it rocks.