FM radio, Does it work for you?


Last Updated:

  1. ExPalm

    ExPalm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    At my desk, my 5th gen Ipod Nano's scan function finds 24 perfectly clear stations.
    The Evo's scan finds NO stations.
    If I manually tune the stations found by the ipod on the Evo, I can find 9 out of the 24 with acceptable reception. And, the radio app occasionally hangs up while tuning, and must be restarted before it works again.

    Do I have a defective unit with respect to FM radio, or are they all like this?

    (not a big deal, since I didn't even know it had FM when I bought it, and I still have the ipod for this purpose.
     

    Advertisement
  2. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
  3. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    You realize you must have headphones connected right? It uses the headphones (wires) as an antenna.

    I just thought of something, maybe this is an iPhone fix!! I am going to be rich!
     
  4. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    Ohh, and yes, mine works.
     
  5. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Bwahahaha.
     
  6. WaSTeLaNd

    WaSTeLaNd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    98
    Mine hasn't worked at all dosent pick up anuthing, and heaving have head phones plugged in
     
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    As Ben pointed out you must have head phones plugged in because it uses them as the antenna. Mine works perfectly with every set I have plugged in so far... Including my car stereo audio in connection
     
  8. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Umm what? Heaving?
     
  9. peepeesea

    peepeesea Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i use mine but the reception blows
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    I think everyone must - it give a dialog if headphones aren't plugged in on startup.

    As noted above by htcevolee, check out the headset links - mighty important.

    Mine gets weak stations well, so in theory, it's not a bad radio.
     
  11. AppleR112

    AppleR112 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Make sure that the headphone plug clicks and seats well into the jack... The jack is tight.
     
  12. mattjlomax

    mattjlomax Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mine works perfect. Picks up every station in the area clear. Love this feature!!
     
  13. kiz88

    kiz88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    22
    If your using TRS headphone your reception will be almost non existant you need TRRS headphones to get reception in FM radio.
     
  14. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    good to know, whats the difference? Do they cost much more?
    Thx
     
  15. kiz88

    kiz88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    22
    Long story short TRS is not made to be used as an antenna and TRRS is.
     
  16. Minjin

    Minjin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    12
  17. gwap

    gwap Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    works perfect for me in nyc, better than streaming hot 97
     
  18. thunder18

    thunder18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Guys, like Kiz88 said, just use TRRS type headphones. To determine if your headphones are TRRS type look at the headphone jack. Does it have 4 metallic sections separated by the black bands, or just 3 metallic sections separated by 2 black bands? You want ones with 4 metallic sections. Typically, the TRRS type headphones will also have an inline mic. I have 3 of these types of headphones from previous Samsung phones i've owned and i'd never even taken them out of the box.

    Basically, the contact in the Evo's headphone socket that acts as a lead for the antenna signal has to touch a specific metal band on your headphones. Standard headphones that have no inline mic, thus only 3 metallic bands, don't line up in the correct spot to act as an antenna for the FM tuner.
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    FWIW - I got the $15 monobud at my local Sprint store - it _sounds_ spectacular as a mic (everyone tells me I've never sounded so good - better than talking into the phone without it is what I'm told) and works great as an antenna.

    Sprint sells at least two kinds of these puppies - I've tried to look them up on the web for everyone, but can't seem to narrow them down. There's only one I recommend.

    Black cord, silver bud and mic, and the cord is not cheesy vinyl, it a soft woven synthetic cloth. The other Sprint ones I've seen have a vinyl cord are all cheap - as in "just a monobud."

    Lousy for stereo (obviously), but tip-top for calls and an antenna.

    And per usual with this sort of thing - the button on the mic serves no purpose on this phone.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  20. kingtheproducer

    kingtheproducer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    My Radio works perfect. Even when i plug it into my shower speakers. haha
     
  21. ExPalm

    ExPalm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6

    Hmm, doesn't sound right, since this would eliminate virtually every personal audio player headphone on the market.. Still, I'll try to find a cheap set and see if it makes a difference. If it does, I may have to do a plug transplant (or build an adapter ) for my Sony earbuds.

    In addition to the poor reception, most times when I do a scan. it just says scanning for a while, then it will not tune anything, even from the list, until I turn the radio off and on again.

    Meh.. This thing would make a lousy radio/music player anyway, given it's battery life.
     
  22. NeoEVO

    NeoEVO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    58
    I couldn't get anything other than static so I migrated to Sprint Radio.
     
  23. rsa

    rsa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just like "Thunder18" said you've got to use TRRS type headsets or the radio will work like crap. At least that's been my experience. I plugged in a standard pair of "earbuds" into the phone and the radio reception was crap. Bought a cheap pair of earbud/mic combo (TRRS type) and the radio works great!!!!!!!!

    End of story! :cool:
     
  24. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    i tried once, and it was junk.

    pearljam radio works fine tho.
     
  25. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84

Share This Page

Loading...