• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help with ROM and OS please?

85jas

Jan 13, 2012
UK
Hi all,

I've been having the wifi problems "Unable to Scan for Networks" issue and would like to send the phone back to the carrier... but I've gone and rooted it haven't I! Now of course I know the perils etc. but was hoping someone would be able to help me to restore it back to it's original state. Could someone point me towards a download for the original ROM and a non-superuser OS image please? If at all possible? I've got revolutionary CWM ROM in at the moment.

I've got an HTC sensation XE. And I'm a complete newbie.

EDIT: btw I'm in the UK and my carrier is Orange, if that helps.

Ta,
Jason

Reactions: 85jas
Upvote 0
Thanks for your speedy reply EarlyMon! I figured I've probably done a wrong-un, like the plonker which I am I managed to delete my <i>original</i> backup from my SD card (during factory reset, d'oh!) so now I've got no non-super user backup! Argh!

Thankyou so much for those links, I will do some serious reading and head-scratching on this. I suppose the best way to learn is the deep end...

EDIT: I used the revolutionary tool to S-off, then installed the revolutionary CWM using the newly s-off'ed bootloader. Finally I used CWM to install the superuser'd binary (kernel? OS? patch?)

Once again many thanks,
Jason

Upvote 0
Hi! Just a quick update, getting there. Before wiping the CWM backups form my SD card (dozy fart!) I copied the non-rooted backup to my computer. When I attempted to copy it back to the blank SD card CWM kept giving me CRC errors... Fortunately I'd copied them under linux and retained the file attributes, copying them back with the "cp -pv" (preserve attributes / ownership + verbose) worked beautifully, now I'm back on non-rooted stock. Now I just need to replace the recovery software with the stock, S-on, then back to the carrier...fingers crossed!