Hero + Panadora = No go?


Last Updated:

  1. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    So I had Pandora installed, favorite stations and started listening to it. Then a song came on and I hit the FF button.....locked up and total phone reboot on its own.

    I uninstalled Pandora, reinstalled it and tried again. Same thing...

    Does FF in Pandora work for anyone else?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rswheaton

    rswheaton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9

    Works great for me... no issues use it daily.
     
  3. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    no issues here. does it happen on WIFI AND cellular? when using cellular, what it your signal level? if you have multiple stations does it happen to all stations? do you have a lot of user installed apps on the device?
     
  4. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes happens on both Wifi and Cellular. Not sure about the signal level, it happens to all my stations...doesn't matter which one I choose.

    I have quite a few apps on the device. I have caught a way out of the whole auto reboot. If I go into taskman and kill Pandora, otherwise it'll lock up, force close then I see the HTC reboot.. :(

    I must look into it some more then...
    ---
    Edit: Ok, so uninstalled last.fm and streamfurious - Took a long shot maybe they interfere somehow...Now I can play Pandora, FF, Pause everything. When I exit I get the HTC logo and 30 seconds "loading" circle then the home screen shows up...meh, maybe I need to do a factory reset and reinstall, but it works for now..
     
  5. mr.menendez

    mr.menendez Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes, happens all the time! I load it up only 1 to 2 songs play then lock up or if i hit skip song it will shut down. I'm going to check if I am able to download slacker instead.

     
  6. watzone69

    watzone69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine will lock up sometimes but not automatically reboot. I usually have to reboot to get it to work again.
     
  7. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, I solved my own issue with the home screen reload. When I was done listening, I would pull out the headphones and then turn off Pandora, then my HOME screen would refresh/reload.

    I figured out that if I shutdown Pandora first, THEN pull out the headphones, I have no issues. :)
     
  8. jayrod88

    jayrod88 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Slacker? I loved this on my blackberry but can't find it for the android os. Have a link?
     
  9. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    ahahah nice
     
  10. Nanan

    Nanan Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pandora stopped working for me a few days ago, program didn't "crash" just never played music, I saw an update and installed it, now Pandora insta crashes with the "force close" window. I have tried to uninstall and reinstall a few times, nothing has worked yet.
     
  11. aeneas_shrike

    aeneas_shrike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pandora works fine except the one place I need it most - the gym. It cuts out and takes roughly a two minutes between songs sometimes, even if I didn't skip to the next song.

    At first, the hiccups in the audio seemed to coincide with the refresh of the google ads on the bottom. This was leading me in the direction of wondering if I just went ahead and got a paid Pandora account, could I reduce my download needs by no longer having the ads? I'm not really sure the mobile version is the same as the browser though, so I'm not even sure having a paid account would make the ads go away (haven't been to Pandora's forums yet).

    Then today I decided to take a look at my signal in different parts of the gym. It was strange to me that the worst behavior consistantly happened while I am on the treadmill (already turned accelerometer off thinking it might be getting false readings from the bumps - no change). Pulling up my signal information, I noted the following - unfortunately, I don't really know what these mean, so if someone could translate it that would be great. At this point I want to know if it's my phone, the pandora app, or the connection speed...

    ------------------------------------------
    location 1:
    min: 99 dBm 4 asu
    max & most of the time: 105 dBm 7 asu
    mobile network type: CDMA - 1xRTT

    ------------------------------------------
    location 2, treadmill:
    min: 89 dBm 12 asu
    average: consistant readings on both range ends, so...
    max: 95 dBm 7 asu
    mobile network type: CDMA - 1xRTT

    ------------------------------------------
    location 3, 5 ft from treadmill:
    min: 0 dBm 0 asu
    max: 95 dBm 8 asu
    mobile network type: CDMA - EvDo rev. 0


    Can someone please tell me what this means, or does it mean nothing? How can I determine what's causing my phone to do this. I'm used to windows...being able to pull up diag tools to determine problem-causers. With this phone I feel like I can't get past the interface without installing apps that possibly only add to the problem, and thus introduce variables.

    Thanks!

    edit: Forgot to mention, I'm using a sprint hero with the out of the box Sense UI. For that matter, would I be better off rooting it? I'm not needing the Sense interface all that much...
     
  12. seabreeze

    seabreeze Guest

    I have noticed several times that after updating an application in the Market, the app will never work again. This has happened with Pandora, Key Ring Finder, Audio Manager and countless other apps. With some other apps, after updating the application, it will work fine, but the name will change to something odd like com.chompsms.blabla ...

    Well, i was reading through Key Ring Finder update and realized that something is occuring specifically with the HTC Hero that is causing this with application updates!

    But there is a ::drum roll please:: workaround! When updating an app, do not select the 'update' option! This is where the programs become corrupt. Instead, click 'uninstall', then reinstall the application. The freshly installed copy will work perfectly!

    I think this is the number one reason why Pandora works for some, and doesn't work for others!!! Mine was not working for days until I did this, and now it works flawlessly... hope this helps!
     
  13. imneveral0ne

    imneveral0ne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    well the first 2 readings say that your not even in evdo coverage, so thats why your music isnt streaming so well, cause your stuck in 1x. the third one your in evdo coverage, but not evdo rev a. it sounds like your gym dont like sprint lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...