• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hi Im New To Androids

The main feature you get from rooting your device is make use of some applications you couldn't have done so without a root.

For e.g. some apps on Google Play allow you to overclock your Android phones - This is only possible is your device is rooted.

Another thing is, you need to root your phone before you can install custom ROMs.

So it's not really neccessary to root your device if your basic usage is just supposed to be listening to music, watching videos, playing games/using apps and tinkering around with other default features of the phone.

If you have rooted your phone successfully nothing to sweat about. You can just start using it normally till you come across an application which lets you use special features which you couldn't have without the root.

And good luck playing around with your new phone! I am sure you are loving the 1080p HD screen! :D

Upvote 0
Hi guys im new to androids :) came from iphone 4 and decided to get a galaxy s4 . I rooted my phone last night and was wonder ing what I should do with the root .. I have no idea atm what im doing

If you have no idea what you are doing, I would suggest you avoid rooting your phone. You have the potential to do more harm than good.

Is there a reason why you wanted to root your phone? Why don't you just use it unrooted?

Coming from an iPhone, an unrooted Android phone can already do way more than an iPhone. I would recommend you just use your phone unrooted for now. If there is something you really want or need to do that requires root, only then should you root your phone.

Upvote 0
If you have no idea what you are doing, I would suggest you avoid rooting your phone. You have the potential to do more harm than good.

Is there a reason why you wanted to root your phone? Why don't you just use it unrooted?