how can you tell if wifi N is working?Support


Last Updated:

  1. msuna

    msuna Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can you tell if wifi N is working after the froyo update? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. neomits

    neomits Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm curious as well.
     
  3. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've been wanting the answer to this question too.

    All I have right now is that if I get into settings and click on the WiFi network I'm connected to, I now get 65Mbps, rather than 54Mbps, would be a 802.11g speed, IIRC. 11n could be upto 300 Mbps. I do also noted slight faster download and uploads speeds using Speed Test.
     
  4. 3L3C7R0

    3L3C7R0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure on the phone side but if you have router access permission you can go see the list of connected wifi devies and it will tell you what its connected through
     
  5. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    I tried this on my NETGEAR dual band router. I could see the phone's IP and MAC address, but it doesn't seem to want to tell me what rate it is connected at.

    However, only wireless n devices will report a connection speed greater than 54 Mbps. They generally are up to 300 Mbps. One can verify this using your laptop.
     
  6. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    So have I, but not sure this is related to N as much as it is related to Froyo and its speed advantage.

    My service is 35mbit up and down and I have an N router. Prior to the update, I would get 13 down and about 2 up. Now I get 13 down and 5-6 up. However with my iPod Touch which is G only, I always get about 12-13 up and 12-13 down.

    I guess I could test by deactivating the N part of my router and see what my speedtest.net app results are.
     
  7. Old Member

    Old Member Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    1,905
  8. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just did a test - switched my router to G only. Identical results to when connected via N. 12-13 down, 5-6 up. Phone was connected at "54" Mbps.

    Switching back to N, phone is connected at "65"Mbps. Same speedtest.net app results.
     
  9. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    WOW!, you get 12-13 down? Is it kbps in your settings or mbps?
    Thats wayyy higher than mine on my phone
     
  10. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    We are talking about using WIFI here, not 3G. I don't get anywhere near that on 3G.
     
  11. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Before Froyo, I never got above 15.xx Mbps up and never got above 2.xx Mbps down. Now, I routinely get 16.xx+ Mbps down and 3.xx+ Mbps up. My wireless service claims 25 Mbps down, but I don't remember the upload speed. Those numbers are with Speed Test. My connection speed now is "65 Mbps".

    edit: I had down and up switched before the edit.
     
  12. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    What app are you using to test?

    Oops just noticed you are using speedtest
     
  13. Pretkomel

    Pretkomel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    13
    I am getting 18.43 mbps down
     
  14. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Please note my edit to my previous post.
     
  15. 3L3C7R0

    3L3C7R0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting 14.6/3.2
     
  16. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    WifiAnalyzer is also a great tool to check out Wifi networks. It will tell you which network type it is, signal strength, channel, etc. Nice to have when trying to set the right channel for your own wifi or trying to find the best publicly available wifi signal to use. :)
     
  17. Roger Zoul

    Roger Zoul Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's a nice app, but it doens't say the connection speed or protocol. At least I could not find it. Still, I'm happy to have this. Thanks.
     
  18. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    I know, I only get 2-3 mbps down on WIFI lol, and my router is an N router
     
  19. poland626

    poland626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm getting:
    5651 kbps Down
    4715 kbps up

    WHAT does that mean?!
     
  20. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    What download speeds are you subscribed to? What do you get on the computer?
     
  21. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    lol im supposed to have 15 down, 5 up. Optimum sucks in my area!! Cant wait for FIOS to NEVER come here :(
     
  22. SCARLETnGREY

    SCARLETnGREY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    9
    I dont get it. I used to get 10-13 Mbps on wifi before OTA now I can only get 1.0-1.2 Mbps! I am getting faster 3G speeds! WTF!

    I have Comcast 15 Mbps and Linksys WRT-160N router.
     

Share This Page

Loading...