How to get 2.1 on unlocked Orange??


Last Updated:

  1. oc1rob

    oc1rob Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have a Hero that was originally an Orange running on O2, this has now been unlocked using an unlock code but it is still running the .66 firmware (the lastest firmware that Orange have)

    All the updates appear to be OTA that I have found, but O2 obviously do not support the Hero.

    Do I need to boot the phone to a true HTC rom or can I go straight to 2.1 via the PC??

    If anybody can give me some basic steps to get to 2.1 it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    Rob
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I don't think there are any PC .exe files for the new updates yet. Even if there were, they wouldn't install on an Orange hero (only the yet to be released orange 2.1 firmware would install, since they check serial numbers).

    You would have to do the goldcard method to install the unbranded 1.5 firmware, and then install the OTA update from within that ROM. A few people here have apparently done this successfully.

    Have a look at the stickies of the rooting section of the forum for a guide to goldcarding :)

    (Since debranding the hero is almost the same technique as rooting it, bear in mind your warranty is at risk doing this).
     
    oc1rob likes this.
  3. oc1rob

    oc1rob Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info Xyro, that would have been my best guess..
    If I wait for the pc exe file and do the upate that way.. will it relock my phone?? shouldn't in theory but I can see it as a risk?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Have a look at this thread, it's full of people debranding to get the update :)

    No, in theory it's not possible to relock your phone accidentally. However, have a look at the thread I linked to. Android1230 mentioned that debranding makes orange phones like yours start asking for unlock codes again due to the radio. You can see from my reply, I think they're thinking of something else, but you might want to hold off until they get back to me.

    EDIT: I would definitely not debrand your hero right now. It seems there might well be a problem with the radio.
     
    oc1rob likes this.
  5. oc1rob

    oc1rob Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks again, looks like waiting for the orange pc.exe 2.1 will be the easiest and safest. Thankfully the orange rom does not have too much orangeness stuff on it, once you clear the radio/3g and mms settings its pretty straightforward..
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    If the 2.1 firmware is anything like 1.5, eventually you should be able to mix and match radios and firmware. So you could have a debranded ROM but the orange radio.

    That's not going to happen instantly though,
     

Share This Page

Loading...