How to update PRL on rooted epic 4g?


Last Updated:

  1. epic4g

    epic4g Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried updating lpr from rooted phone but it wouldnt let me do it.

    Is there a way to update manually?

    Thank you in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Are you rooted and running a custom ROM or simply rooted?

    Simply being rooted won't prevent you from updating the PRL. Sometimes though it just doesn't want to update. Give it a day and try it again. As long as you are getting service where you are at I wouldn't worry about it tooo much though.
     
  3. epic4g

    epic4g Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for info. but its not working. I ROOTED only with no changes on ROM.
    keep failing to update PRL. anyone tried & worked?
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Mine says Failed as well... probably something on Sprints end as I know for a FACT that mine has worked since being rooted.
     
  5. Aero1

    Aero1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    58
    I'm I am getting failed prl updates on our two unrooted epics.
     
  6. zman519

    zman519 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all i'm new hear in fact this is my first post. PRL = priority roaming/roam locations? Correct......Or?
     
  7. epic4g

    epic4g Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    that is correct, it updates signals....but not working since rooted somehow. anyone else?
     
  8. zman519

    zman519 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well i just did the update & it restarted the radio. Worked
     
  9. epic4g

    epic4g Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    its urs rooted? and still worked?
     
  10. krazynut

    krazynut New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    <P>
    </P>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <P>&nbsp;</P>
    <P>This worked for me I pressed ##3282# and hit edit pressed my phone MSL code and reset my phone. It will then reboot and will reprogram itself over the air...it was then that i was able to update prl..&nbsp; You will need to google on xda on how to find your msl code with terminal emulator.</P>
     
  11. pimp8426

    pimp8426 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone else tried this method?
     
  12. nstg8r

    nstg8r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    20
  13. laugher77

    laugher77 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    For those newbies that just want to know where to find this area mentioned above on your phone, go here:

    Press Menu, Settings, About Phone, System Updates

    Options here are:
    Update Firmware
    Update Profile
    Update PRL
    Update Android
     

Share This Page

Loading...