kaos froyo v30


Last Updated:

  1. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    In the thread XTRRom 4.0.6, I mentioned that I was planning to install kaos froyo v30, and ShaggyLouie asked me to report what changes I noticed.

    In addition to what I said in that thread:

    I also learned (from this site) that the new gmail app adds text selection! While reading a message, you can hit menu->more->Select text, select the text you want to copy, and when you lift your finger from the display, it will automatically copy the text to the clipboard.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lagos

    Lagos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Froyo rom keeps getting better!
     
  3. shaggylouie

    shaggylouie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Good stuff. Thanks doogald. And I agree Lagos - best froyo ROM.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    The automatic brightness does seem better in low light situations. That's a good thing; whenever I look at battery usage stats, Display is always highest. Right now it is at 55%; earlier today, before V30, it was at 70%+.
     
  5. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    Anyone else's trackball no longer lights up for notifications in V30?
     
  6. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Mine continues to work perfectly (only when the display is off, as designed.) It is, in fact, flashing as I type. However, I did not factory wipe first; I flashed over V28.
     
  7. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    I was on V29 and wiped, hmmm.
     
  8. Trigen

    Trigen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed problems with trackball notification since v27 when I first loaded Kaos. Also, has the LED every worked with any version of Kaos? Lack of the LED notification is the only thing that I really miss with this ROM. Otherwise it works really well. The v30 control over the automatic brightness settings was a definite improvement.
     
  9. McFluffnStuff

    McFluffnStuff Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7

    The LED light isn't supposed to light up when you get a notification. Kaos has stated before that the proper notification alert is for the trackball to light up. So, its not broken, its just the way it works. <_<
     
  10. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    LED hasn't worked for me. I think I'm going to restore my backup of V29, flash V30 and see if my trackball notifications work.
     
  11. mrw5641

    mrw5641 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    5
    so if you have v29 do you need to wipe or you can just flash over?
     
  12. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    It's recommend to wipe then flash coming from any earlier version.
     
  13. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    is MMS still buggy in this version.
     
  14. heyjoojoo

    heyjoojoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    1
    Should I keep ADWlauncher or go to Launcher2 with v30?
     
  15. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    I prefer LauncherPro. :D
     
  16. bjf88

    bjf88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    37
    Regardless of whether having the LED light up for notifications "isn't the way it's supposed to be", it's something most of us are used to and prefer it that way. I personally don't like my trackball lighting up except for when I get a call and even then, it's getting pretty dirty so it doesn't look very good anymore.

    I'm disappointed that for some reason it was taken out of Froyo but it seems to me that it could be something that could be worked into the ROM as an option at least. I'm almost hesitant to donate to dev's who write off requests by users who want something back they are used to having, especially when it's something as (seemingly) simple as a blinking LED.

    But then again, I have no idea what goes into something like that so someone correct me if I'm wrong... no disrespect to the dev's at all, I'm awed and very greatful for what they do for my beloved little phone. I would be more than willing to donate more than my fair share once I get my LED back :D
     
  17. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    I'm still having a problem with MMS. Stock messaging force closes when I launch it. I can't receive an MMS with Handcent (my preferred message app).

    What issue are you having?

    I did use Titanium to restore my SMS messages, so I wonder if that messed something up.
     
  18. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    There is a menu setting for trackball blinking on notifications; the blinking rate can be selected from a list in a sub-menu (along with the color, which doesn't work):

    menu > settings > cyanogen mod settings > user interface > led notifications > (select app to be notified about from a list) > blink rate

    There is a "flash test" at the bottom of the menu to test your setting.
     
  19. Lagos

    Lagos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    29

    LauncherPro seems to run faster on this rom, so give it a try.
     
  20. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Yep, that would be it. That's what happened to me when I first flashed Froyo, got it all set up, did a Nand backup, and then tried to restore SMS. The app force closed. The kaos froyo FAQ specifically recommends against this.
     
  21. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Thanks for the confirmation. What would be the best way to resolve this... use TiB to remove the settings, or wipe and reflash and not restore.
     
  22. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,622
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    What I would try first is wipe, reinstall Titanium, do a batch restore but deselect the SMS settings and Dialer settings before you tell the restore to go ahead.
     
  23. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    is there a way to set launcher pro to go to your home screen when you hit home? when i press the home button it goes into cascade mode.
     
  24. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yes, in the LP preferences, the setting is under the Behavior settings category. It's the last checkbox on the page.
     
  25. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    62
    My trackball is hit or miss. When I test it, it will flash every 2 or so seconds. But when I receive a text via Handcent, my trackball will only flash 2 times.
     

Share This Page

Loading...