Mac and Root


Last Updated:

  1. bradmatic

    bradmatic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    Is it possible to do the steps required to root if I have a mac?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Droidus

    Droidus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    13
  3. lonzom10

    lonzom10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm a newb to rooting and decided to try it tonight on me and my wife's Fasciantes using the instructions in the link above. The video was extremely helpful. I think it actually took me longer to download the files and make sure they were in the right location than it did for me to root both phones. Again, a very good tutorial... the only issue I ran into was that I had reboot my phone at the rage.bin portion of the process and then start over. Once I did this it worked perfect.
     
  4. bradmatic

    bradmatic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    17
    did it.
     
  5. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's where I got stuck in the process. It was my first time trying to root so I tried it one more time (Without rebooting) and got stuck at the same spot so I gave up. Maybe I'll reboot and try it again.
     
  6. artman540

    artman540 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    48
    the rar file isnt working for me
     
  7. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I rooted from my PC. However, there is a one click root available from the market where you dont even need your mac. RyanZA's One Click Lag Fix has a rooting option built in. Check it out
     
  8. NOsquid

    NOsquid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    65
    Ryan mentioned on XDA a couple of weeks ago that the one click root wouldn't work on this phone.
     
  9. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    You are right. Earlier today I tried to unroot and reroot using the app. You can un root but not root
     
  10. Dtatch

    Dtatch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    25
    Hey guys if you are still searching for help on root, I run a linux distro and unix is very similar so I could walk you through it. I'm not really sure what all methods are out for the fascinate currently but I used the one at rootzwiki. It's a step by step command line process but in essence is the same thing as any other root method.
     

Share This Page

Loading...