• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help New to Android, did I buy the right device ?

retro

Lurker
Aug 14, 2016
Hey guys, I am new here so please excuse my Android knowledge :)

Every year before another product is about to launch, I sell my phone, in order to get the latest device. This time it was the iPhone 6S. I actually sold my iPhone for a very good price as I had lost my box and receipt and still managed to pull off around 375 £.

I have to be honest, I have never used an Android device before but this time instead of waiting 2 months (before the new iPhone 7 / 6SE comes out) I thought about buying a budget Android phone in order to try it.

My budget was between 110 - 160 £ and I basically found what I was looking for. The 2 phones were;

#1: HTC Desire 530 (2016) - 187 £ (17 % and another code off to 130 £)

#2 Samsung Galaxy A3 (2016) - 225 £

Basically, the two devices are very similar in specs, though I heard that the HTC is very slow. My question is that I opted for the HTC since it is under my budget and all I need this phone is for testing it for 2 or 3 months. The most I do with my phone is, Web browsing (I don't know how fast web browsing would be if compared to the iPhone 6S - but I am looking for a decent and faster web browser), Facebook and Messenger, Snapchat, Youtube, Mails and thats about it. I think that the HTC would still be a great choice (even though I'll only use it for 2 months and then buy the new iPhone again), what do you guys think ?

Both phones have 4G and I even got the HTC on a very good offer. There was 17 % off on the phone plus another additional value code that brought it down to exact 130 £.

Looking forward to hear from you guys best.

You're intentionally buying a budget phone so keep your expectations of phone performance in accordance with that category of phone. Don't be surprised when you run into occasional lags and other issues.