• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help New to Android, New to Xoom

Hi there.

I've got the Xoom coming in a couple of days and I'm new to the whole tablet technology and to the Android world. I would welcome any and all tips and ideas from unboxing and first charging - to screen protectors - to whatever you think I should know about the Xoom.

I am planning to put Autodesk Sketchbook Pro on the Xoom and finally do the drawing that I force Photoshop to do right now. I know that it is not optimized for the Xoom, but I can put up with the lag time and whatnot for now.

What else do I need? What does the Xoom come with as far as apps, etc. Like I said, I am new to this so I don't even know about getting on the internet, browser, etc on the Xoom.

Here's what I'd most like to do on the Xoom:

1. Draw
2. Check email
3. Surf
4. Something akin to Word or Excel for keeping LONG lists of things.
5. Listen to music on StreamTheWorld.com.
6. Transfer files from my PC - images, etc.
7. Watch something that I have on DVD.
8. How about scanning the ISBN number on a book and having the info come up, or at least go into my LONG lists. (Pipe dream?)

I am so excited about the Xoom. I don't have many tech toys, so this is a huge deal to me and I am gonna burst. I haven't skipped down the street in many, many years, but I think I might have to when it arrives. (I'm not so much of a tech-geek as I am a tech-dork.) :D

If you've got a few minutes to spare for the pathetic newbie, I'd be grateful. If not, can we talk about Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory? I think he's my twin.

So, I'm making a list of stuff that I find on the forums. So far:

I need to download Adobe Flash 10.x What are we up to - 10.2?

Turn off the standalone GPS - battery waster

Use a dry microfiber cloth for cleaning, unless I have been eating fried chicken and then I might need a wet clean-up. :rolleyes: