• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Play Store stuck on Downloading - Galaxy S III

Hello, I'm new to Android, just got my first one yesterday. Right off the bat I'm trying to tackle a problem.
I may be an Android newbie, but I'm also a software developer, so feel free to get technical with me.
I got my Galaxy S III yesterday. It says it's Android 4.0.4
there is no SIM card in it yet, because I've also switched operators and I'm now waiting for my phone number to be transferred and the new card to be activated. I can't put my old SIM card inside, because it's the original format, which is bigger.
So I'm connected through my WiFi router, I have a decent speed aDSL, both browsing and YouTube app work great on the phone. I've also connected to my gmail account without any problems.
The problem, as the title suggests, is with the Play Store. At first it seems to work fine, i.e. I can browse the apps, preview screenshots, and so on. But when I try to download an app, it just gets stuck. It doesn't freeze up or anything, but the app is eternally stuck in the downloading phase.
I've only tried this with two apps, both free. One of them is about 3.65MB, the other is 1.33MB, so they should have been downloaded in a matter of seconds.
Instead, what happens is the app keeps 'downloading' for tens of minutes, and then I get an error. first time I tried I got this:
"App Name" could not be downloaded doe to an error. (500)
every other time I've tried so far I got this:
"App Name" could not be downloaded doe to an error. (495)

Things I've already tried with no result:
Cancelling and restarting the download
Killing the Play Store app through application manager and starting it again
Clearing the Play Store app's cache through application manager
Clearing the Play Store app's data through application manager
Uninstalling the updates for Play Store app through application manager
Rebooting my phone