Prevail rootedTips


Last Updated:

  1. Tommy78

    Tommy78 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    34
    I could have posted this in the main thread where I got this information from, but something new seemed like a better idea if I were to help a new user right now.

    I've recently rooted my Galaxy Prevail and figured I'd post how I did it, and honestly, it was very simple.

    I downloaded the Samsung drivers and the KMS zip file here. http://androidforums.com/galaxy-prevail-all-things-root/346918-one-click-root.html

    I followed the instructions and it worked well, the only issue was that I had to run the "PrevailToExistence.bat" 3 or 4 times before it actually worked, but that seemed to be mentioned there and was normal.

    One of the first things I did was try to remove the "bloatware" or factory apps that were installed by default when you get the phone. First I used some other app, (forget the name) it did work but was more of a hassle to have to type in commands manually to get the apps removed, then I found Titanium Backup. TB does a few things for you but one of its functions does include removing apps in a simple point-and-click kind of way, that was much easier. If anyone has any questions, I can help.
     

    Advertisement
    monkeyman45044 likes this.
  2. Viet1982

    Viet1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    54
    If running the batch file doesn't work while your phone is on, boot it up and when you see the Samsung logo start the batch file up on your computer.

    Also Titanium Backup can make your internal user apps convert to system ROM apps freeing up more space on internal storage. You just need to press down on the selected app in the list for a few seconds and a second submenu pops up and there's an option that reads "convert to system app" or something like that, you can also revert a system app back to internal.
     
    CrystalCin813 likes this.
  3. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    30
    Could you expand on that a little Viet? I guess I'm not clear on the difference in internal user apps vs. system ROM apps, and the benefit AND drawback of converting internal user to system ROM.

    Any insight is appreciate. Thanks!
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,071
    >.> i think the point of his post was to let new guys know how easy it was and that he could help, not that he was having issues :)
     
    monkeyman45044 likes this.
  5. Tommy78

    Tommy78 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah, I was a little confused at viet1982's post since I had already done what I needed to do and was not looking for help. Anyway, it appears that he can help out too when the time comes.
     
  6. Viet1982

    Viet1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    54
    Sorry :eek: I need to stop jumping the gun on these posts thinking everyone needs help and just to read more thoroughly. As yall can see I don't like reading much so I tend to make up my own stories in my head :p
     
  7. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,071
    XD the stories in my head tend to be much better ;P
     
  8. awdtsi42o

    awdtsi42o Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone please explain what using Titanium Backup to "convert to user app" in the backup/restore menu does? I would like to transfer as many apps as possible to get my Prevail running the best and fastest I can, right now I am extremely low on internal memory:

    Can I transfer all of my programs to the SD?

    Any drawbacks to running them from SD?

    Do the apps launch/run faster from internal memory?

    Thanks for any help in advance!
     
  9. Tommy78

    Tommy78 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    34
    You don't need to use TB, just hit the menu button/settings/applications/manage applications. then tap an app and click on move to SD card. Some apps cannot be moved, but just try the next one and keep going down the list.

    Most of them.

    Not really, just that you have to always leave the SD card inserted otherwise whatever you moved to it will not able to be used anymore.

    No.
     
  10. awdtsi42o

    awdtsi42o Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much for your help!

    So is there any reason or purpose to keep TB?
     
  11. Tommy78

    Tommy78 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    34
    I used TB to backup files and also remove the bloatware (files that came with the phone that use resources that normally cannot be deleted unless rooted). TB removes those apps easily. Apps like Hookt, Layar, SCVNGR, Twidroyd, Youtube, TeleNav GPS, Poynt and others, but be careful, removing some apps (not listed) can harm your phone.
     
  12. CrystalCin813

    CrystalCin813 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone use jrummy root tools on the prevail yet??
     
  13. Mraines

    Mraines New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I have a prevail, and I don't have a clue about rooting... I heard about it, but don't know how to do it. I really REALLY need some help! Please! =)
    *michelle*
     
  14. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
  15. tee2dream

    tee2dream New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very cool info Tommy.

    Being a bit of a nube, where can I find Titanium Backup?

    Thnx
     
  16. MDykstra

    MDykstra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the drivers and zip file. I followed instructions step by step and ran the PrevailToExistence batch file 4 or 5 times. My phone still isn't rooted. Titanium Backup will not work, and I cannot move the bloatware to SD card on my own. What do I do?
     
  17. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    you are most likely using the wrong one click root based on that prevail to existance batch. that is the older one. the new one I linked to 2 posts up
     
  18. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426

    You can find it on Android Market . I bought the Pro Key but a lot of people just stick with the free version . :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...