Rooted and went back, now what?


Last Updated:

  1. JackieNoff

    JackieNoff Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    So, I did all the rooting stuff today to check it out, and later saw that legit cupcake should be out soon, so I rolled it back to RC29. Now Im still on RC29 and Im wondering if eventually I will get an update to 30 etc. or if theres something else I need to do..?

    Anyone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Man I hope some one hits this up...I was wondering th same thing. I think you would be well to manually update to RC33
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    NOPE that will not happen ... you need to now flash RC30 and RC33 (1.1) and install RC33 Radios ...

    That guide and files links are in my Signature below ...
     
  4. JackieNoff

    JackieNoff Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    After I do that Ill be able get the OTA from tmobile(eventually)?

    Edit: I was able to do all the updates to get to RC33 but the radio update says verification failed etc, is there something Im missing? I did see it say extracting radio image and what not when doing the RC33 update, is the radio update still neccesary?
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    you have to revert back to the 1.1 radios ... you may not have flash them
    .

    In About phone ckeck Baseband build if still ends with 22.19.261 that is the 1.5 cupcake radios ...

    and you want RC33 1.1 radios which ends with 22.14.11

    You need to follow the guide in my signature below For Unrooting Root-2-Legit ... making sure you flash the coorect radios as the last thing you do before final reboot
     
  6. JackieNoff

    JackieNoff Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, thanks for your help. Baseband shows ending in 22.14.11.

    So when legit cupcake starts rolling out I will get the OTA?
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Yeap you should be Golden Now !!
     
  8. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not trying to start a flame war or anything. I do have a question on this subject. What would be the benefit in unrooting your g1?
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Ok I have answered this before ....

    1.) Say you have played rooted ... but now you want starting getting OTA updates again ... unless you unroot and return to a Legit Build you will not get OTAs .

    2.) You want to sell your phone to a person who need the phone to be stock.

    3.) You want to return phone to T-Mobile and think that there may be a problem getting support if the system is not native.

    4.) You are having issues with the build and not working with your apps ...because the Build you are using still has bugs and not a final solid build.

    That should be enough for anyone to get the possible reasons to UNROOT ....

    I have had a few people ask WTF would you ever want to ?? If they had thought a few moments they might have come up with the same possibilities I have listed... But whatever ... we all think differently ...
     
  10. MichaelSF

    MichaelSF Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the cupcake update per the YouTube tutorial and while I got everything set up fine, I did not like that my San Francisco phone thinks it's in the UK. (I made sure to use the U. S. cupcake update).

    Anyway, I prefer to wait for the OTA from T-Mo.

    So that's a reason to go back.

    Looking forward to doing the "down-date" (my stupid phrase) per your instructions.

    Tried last night and while I easily got to 1.0 (is that RC29 or RC30?) got confused on other instructions, so I am trying again today.
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Don't know anything about the YouTube instructions ...

    And you must have a bad build rc7 to indicate UK i rooted mine with the stuff you see in my signature with any issues to location as a US Build ...
     
  12. Crackbone

    Crackbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yep, same thing. Not sure how he got a UK localization off of those builds...
     

Share This Page

Loading...