Search Hard Button Going On By Itself... HELPSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've had my Captivate for a few weeks now. I've noticed since day one that the search button 'hard button' on the lower right of the phone, mysteriously 'pressed itself'. The first few times I figured I pushed it on accident with my pinky or something. That Is Not The Case. I know I'm not going crazy but every once in awhile, the hard button lights will go on and the vibrate (I have vibrate set to on) will go on and the search will pop up. All on it's own. This happens at least 5 times a day. If not more. It doesn't do it on any one specific page, it does it no matter what I'm doing on my phone. Sometimes I'll literally watch it just laying in my hand when my phone is on and the search will pop up.

    Anyone else having this problem?

    Please help. It's driving me crazy!!

    Thanks,
    Bil
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    From a poster on XDA:

    "I got a replacement phone a few days ago because my search button was randomly being pressed..."

    Exchange it.
     
  3. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    I bought it from sears.com for 99.00. Do I have to return it to them or can I return it to any AT&T store? I think it's been past 30 days. Maybe I'm stuck with it?
     
  4. Jack45

    Jack45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    239
    Check with Sears first to see what their policy is. Other than that it becomes an AT&T warranty issue. They'll swap it out for you.

    Besides, how can anyone turn you down? You're the...

    ItalianHunk!
     
  5. mckooter

    mckooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    11
    side question, do you have a screen protector on it? for some reason after installing my zagg it kept doing this to me, now that im not running a screen protector it dosent happen anymore.

    just a thought
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    Lately my back button has been acting up
     
  7. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nope. No screen protector. I do have a Body Glove that I got from AT&T. But it was messing up before I put it on.
     
  8. ItalianHunk

    ItalianHunk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    AT&T is sending me a new phone. Thanks all. :)
     
  9. Nielv13

    Nielv13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is a method to just remove the function of the search button all together. i never use it... its a google phone, there is a soft search button on every app! lol. I did a little research and found out how to disable this hard button.

    Change keylayout for Captivate search button
    1. root the phone (not sure if you need this step)
    2. put it in debug mode
    3. adb pull /system/usr/keylayout/melfas-touchkey.kl
    4. edit file and change
      key 107 SEARCH WAKE_DROPPED to #key 107 SEARCH WAKE_DROPPED
    5. save
    6. adb push melfas-touchkey.kl /sdcard/melfas-touchkey.kl
    7. abd shell
    8. su (goes with first step)
    9. cat /sdcard/melfas-touchkey.kl > /system/usr/keylayout/melfas-touchkey.kl

    reboot. done. :)

    Its easier than it looks, this thread ranked pretty high on google and i haven't seen anyone give a straight answer yet... so i figured i might help out anyone who is looking for an answer. (my good deed for today) :D

    if anyone needs me to, i will go further into it but i'm pretty much a noob and was able to get this done within 30 min. but as i said, i'm here to help. and if anyone wants to test it without rooting that would be cool.
     
    Tracie33180 likes this.
  10. bowtie_babe18

    bowtie_babe18 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'm totally lost on this... have no idea what you are talking about, please explain for the stupid people. This freakin search button is driving me insane! I've had this phone since january and this just started like a week ago. It's maddening. I went to the ATT store, they directed me to the Warranty dept who proceeded to have me on the phone for 30 mins just to tell me that I needed to reset my phone (aka erase EVERYTHING) and that may or may not fix the problem and that if not they would probably send me a refurbished phone. (here goes the rant, sorry!) I don't want a mother flippin refurbished phone... I don't want to erase all my stuff off my phone. ATT obviously sucks because they had never heard of this problem before and I mentioned several times about the possibility of disabling the search button and no one knew what I was talking about. I just got off the phone with them and I'm a little bit mad about this whole situation and their utter lack of expertise in relation to their products.
    Anyway, I am interested in trying to disable the search button before I go to any other extremes. I updated my phone to droid 2.2 about 2 months ago? My phone is not rooted, and I really don't want to have to root it at all if that helps any. Sorry not the most tech savvy person in the world when it comes to programming and what not. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated!
     
  11. imb951

    imb951 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello everyone, FWIW my Captivate's hard search button started having a mind of it's own a few weeks ago. I'm pretty well versed with the adb command line so I'll probably try disabling the button. Sucks...
     
  12. Nielv13

    Nielv13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for the wait. I didn't ignore this thread purposely. i just didn't know someone replied (i'm kinda new to the way forums work). i would love to go further in depth with this and i will try to post a video with links up when i get a chance to do this. :) it'll probably take me a few days.

    i still don't know if the phone should be rooted or not; but if you don't mind tinkering, you can help me answer that question. i know how annoying the stupid search button is and i will try and help ASAP.
     
  13. Ebalde

    Ebalde New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, everyone, i am fresh here. But i am very happy today because i havd bought one new capacitive samsung tabelt. I like it very much and i think i got a good tablet this time. the color and the function i like most. i want to share it with everybody, i am happy now!
     
  14. hybridmorphos

    hybridmorphos New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a quick fix for the search button constantly turning on whenever it wanted to. All you need to do is place several layers of electrical tape over the hard search button until button no longer response to touch. That's it! Basically any non conducting material could be used.
     
  15. hybridmorphos

    hybridmorphos New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Touchscreen Booster seems to have worked in reducing the screen sensitivity.
     

Share This Page

Loading...