• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Should what happens at Applebee's stay at Applebee's?

Jhawk, don't know if we're the exception or not, but if our delivery drivers (who are paid just slightly below min. wage, ~$6/hr I think) don't make at least min wage, we pay the difference. Granted, this has never happened and they make a ton with tips, but it's how we operate.
For the record, when I delivered food for a pizza restaurant, I got no hourly wages whatsoever. I was a 1099 contractor, not an employee, which is how businesses get around the worker protection rules.

I got $1.25 per delivery, which just barely covered the cost of buying, fueling and maintaining the car that I needed to do my job. I got no pay for mileage, and no tax breaks either under the then-new Voodoo Economics tax laws.

Tips were the difference between me making a living and working hard for nothing. I netted $20 a night on average, and if there was no delivery business, I didn't get paid.

The waitresses at the other restaurant in out mini-mall considered getting less than $250 a shift "disastrous". They got paid $1.00 an hour; the rest was tips.

Upvote 0
I'm not a server, but was told by a friend who had been a waitress for years, that if a server does not get an 8% tip, they are losing out from their check.
Good point. Thanks to "get tough" laws, the IRS and state governments tax waitstaff based on a calculation of what they might get if everyone tipped them well. Yet another example of "preventive law enforcement" harming innocent people.

Upvote 0
ok so this is my take:

first off, should the customer have written on the check like that?.....no.

should the waitress even though she did not serve the table get fired?......yes.