TVCatchUp goes live for Android!!!


Last Updated:

  1. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,302
    3g is generally 3.something mbs. Yes Orange have H but it appears as 3g+ for branding purposes
     

    Advertisement
  2. humma78

    humma78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    23
    No joy here on Vodafone through H works on Wi fi I guess Vodafone is blocking this as I also cant access Yamgo through H also. :(
     
  3. Nestacres

    Nestacres Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've just got this flash is not supported? Any one else had this?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,302
    Was upstairs at home 36mbs WiFi. Weak signal. Downstairs 54 LQ ok. HQ crisp pic but out of sync and unreliable. No joy on H but yamgo usually fine (but poor quality)
     
  5. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    40
    Are you sure you are using TVCatchup Mobile ? Otherwise try making sure that you have 'load mobile version' enabled in settings.

    Ben
     
  6. ifb-online

    ifb-online Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    52
    Not yet tried it on mobile data yet, but over wifi here at home it's very impressive. My only niggle is that the picture is laterally squashed slightly. I can live with that though, so very impressed so far.

    Ian
     
  7. ifb-online

    ifb-online Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    52
    Actually that's not true. For example, Some T-Mobile customers only get 384Kb/sec data rate. There are plenty of articles that show the rates networks let ther customers enjoy varies considerably.

    Ian
     
  8. brykins

    brykins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    77
    Just tried on my Desire (T-Mobile, unbranded, connected via WiFi and it wouldn't load any channel (HQ or LQ) that I selected.

    Did find it quite funny that on an on-demand, CATCH UP service, they have ITV2 and ITV2+1 (along with other +1 stations)
     
  9. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    135
    having discussed this with vodafone they say they are not blocking it on 3g. Personally I think this is bollox because it works fine on wifi.

    They gave me 2 months free vodafone live TV subscription. That doesn't work either!!!
     
  10. wavemeister

    wavemeister Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just tried it now on BBC1, wow really impressed. Watching football on 3G (HSDPA) :D
     
  11. alan hanson

    alan hanson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    cant get it to work just says not found
     
  12. slatyford

    slatyford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    Try this:

    hhtp://m.tvcatchup.com

    worked for me
     
  13. Havoc

    Havoc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Only works in the UK, according to the website
     
  14. QuietStorm

    QuietStorm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I managed to get into it AFTER the first World Cup match, and BEFORE the second one. I guess loads of people were using it during the games! LOL

    Also, apparently, at present, it DOESN'T work over wifi on the HTC Desire, but works over a 3G/EDGE/HSDPA
     
  15. dunbad

    dunbad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    11
    Well I just tried this on my unbranded desire on o2. It tried it on wifi and it was, well, bad! The picture quality was pants in low or high quality. And the sync was out. Unwatchable really. Havent tried on H yet, but the quality was better on yamgo which ive never rated. I hope this us just a glitch because on the iphone it kicked ass.
     
  16. slatyford

    slatyford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    34
    works over wifi for me
     
  17. QuietStorm

    QuietStorm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be fair, I haven't tried since the football finished. But it was a common problem, apparently. I'm gonna try again later.
     
  18. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    Works now for me both wifi and 3G/HSPA. Though I noticed that it's written iphone on the address. :confused:
     
  19. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    40
    Bizarre that the results are so mixed. I've had it not connect first time on a couple of attempts but the picture quality is fantastic on my Desire over wifi.

    Ben
     
  20. ktradx

    ktradx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow this is wicked!!!!!!!!!!
     
  21. Dudditz

    Dudditz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    19
    Can't get it to work on WiFi or H on T-Mob...
     
  22. beardyweirdy

    beardyweirdy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    16
    Have you tried clicking on the expand button?
    Whilst the stream is playing, a gentle press on screen brings up a progress bar at the bottom. Click on the button with four arrows in the bottom right of the screen and it fills the width of the screen properly. Still looks slightly squished after doing this, but much less noticeably.
     
  23. ou7shined

    ou7shined Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Brilliant thanks.
     
  24. The_Hawkster

    The_Hawkster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well this is a tad frustrating, I've now tried Beebplayer, Myplayer, Yamgo and tvcatchup on my Desire via Wi-Fi and none have yet to work, both tvcatchup and Yamgo say that I'm "unable to connect to server" and Myplayer says to make sure that my server or firewall aren't blocking port 554, I've got a D-Link router and gone through the steps of port forwarding to no avail, I'm also on Virgin Broadband and I've tested the aforementioned on a friends Orange Broadband and they all work fine so am I right in thinking that this is a Virginmedia problem? Is there anything I could do apart from possibly eating away at my o2 PAYG balance via 3G/H?

    Any help would be grateful. :)
     
  25. d.knight99

    d.knight99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    38
    I'm on Orange, works fine over wifi and 3G network on both high and low quality. No settings needed to be changed!

    Loving this web app soooo much, thanks for the heads up guys! Any ideas if/when this will ever become an actual downloadable app? This kinda reminds me of the days when I used to have my 1st gen iPhone and all we had were web apps!
     

Share This Page

Loading...