Updating HTC Magic with Sense ROM


Last Updated:

  1. psl86

    psl86 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the update from the Taiwanese site (have a Taiwanese phone) but I can't install it on my HTC Magic. The installer can't find my phone, even though it is connected. By connected I mean that I can mount it, but I have the same sync problems as a lot of other people; HTC Sync does not work! I guess it is a driver problem or similar.. I am on Windows 7 x64 Professional, but I have also tested it on Vista x64 and XP x32. Looking for a windows 7 fix I guess.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Paal
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi PSL86 & Welcome to AF forums! :D

    Is this a Vodafone UK Magic or a "With Google" Magic? If so HTC Sync does not work with this phone model. it is only for HTC Magic's with a 32a Board , Vodafone's HTC Magic and "with Google" Magics are 32b hence not compatible {I beleive}

    Carl C :)
     
  3. psl86

    psl86 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, this is a unbranded phone..
     
  4. erind23

    erind23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should try to download from the support center a fix for HTC sync, it worked for me after installing that.
    Can u please upload the ROM in a sharing site. I am a swedish owner who hasn't the update available for download yet... :(((( They promised october, but it is already november now.
     
  5. moon_walker333

    moon_walker333 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello friends,

    Does anyone knows when HTC Sense ROM udpate will be made available to HTC Magic (Rogers) devices in Canada ?? I guess those are 32A devices and do deserve the HTC Sense update...

    Please share if somebody knows. I see that Taiwan/Hong Kong has already got the Update... check this out - http://www.htc.com/hk-en/SupportViewNews.aspx?dl_id=765&news_id=355
     
  6. JackTheMan18

    JackTheMan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. You can do this yourself if you wish to root your phone, and take your chances. goto xda-developers.net and research how.
    2. I'm not sure it is ever coming to the Rogers HTC Magic. They just let go their tech support staff!
    3. In order to get HTC Synch to work with windows 7, you have to manually install the vista X64 drivers, and install them in the right directory. Yes, it works, but it requires manual effort.
     
  7. psl86

    psl86 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually found an XP machine instead...It wouldn't synch, but the ROM updater found my phone, so now my HTC Magic Singapore has Sense
     
  8. geebs

    geebs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jacktheman18,

    Does the the rogers phone have to be unlocked?? and if you do what say above does the Wifi, bluetooth still work???
     
  9. JackTheMan18

    JackTheMan18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    -Most of the custom ROM's have wifi and bluetooth working; however look carefully on the particular thread at xda - what works, and what doesn't work; it depends on the rom.

    -remember again, that there is a risk of a bricked phone!
     

Share This Page

Loading...