Where is Froyo?


Last Updated:

  1. Germwise

    Germwise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Droid has froyo, Nexus has froyo roms.

    If droid has it why not us!?!?! I am dying waiting. I will give the first person who gets me a working froyo rom an amazing meal composed of any 2 items from the McD's dollar menu.

    Don't let this offer expire.
     

    Advertisement
  2. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    i will up that offer to any combo meal at taco bell ;)
     
  3. Shotgunx1x

    Shotgunx1x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    16
    This is a great question that I would also like to know the answer to. There must be a good reason why a froyo rom isn't out yet for the incredible.
     
  4. acidarmitage

    acidarmitage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    17
    were the ones that actually need it because we hae that 256mb of RAM that we cant use until we get it
     
  5. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    The Incredible hasn't been rooted that long, give people sometime to build roms that work with the Incredible remember unlike the Nexus One and Droid this phone not only was much more difficult to even get root but it also has Internal Memory which is another thing that makes an updated rom with froyo a little more complicated to make I imagine

    be patient , it will come
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,389
    Likes Received:
    16,500
    Please keep replies respectful, folks.
     
  7. xgphacks123

    xgphacks123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    The reason is that we do not have the right kerrnels for a froyo port. We have a .29 kernel, and we need a .32 kernel. Now, one may ask, where are the .32 kernels? So, the reason that we dont have .32 kernels that it is "an uphill battle" as described by ejhart. Since we have a .29 kernel as stock, it will be difficult to recreate a .32 kernel from source. I have also heard from ejhart that he and their team are working on a .32 kernel from the desire.

    So, froyo will come with the proper kernel.


    I hope this helped anyone who doesnt know why froyo isnt coming as soon as you would like. I know everyone, including myself wants froyo, and is very impatient about it, but really, do you want to run a terrible froyo rom with nothing working (or just be bootlooping) or do we want a usable froyo.

    HAPPY HACKING!
     
    ArmlessRifleman, Josh2 and crimton like this.

Share This Page

Loading...