Where is the problem: WiFi, Skype, Android, Motorola ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all

    I'm thinking of getting the Milestone 2 (in the UK, unlocked), and I'm confused. :confused:

    Where does the problem lie for the Milestone to connect to the internet through WiFi and use Skype, is it:

    • the Android OS not incorporating the needed protocols ?
    • Skype not being available for 'mobile' OS ?
    • Verizon castrating the Milestone capabilities ?
    Would really appreciate your advice on this as it's central to my purchase

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Verizon has nothing to do with Milestone in the UK.
     
  4. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    LoL true Szadzik, I was trying to find what about the Milestone made it 'challenging' to use Skype over WiFi - there is an issue with this and it seems to me to be related to Verizon rather than to Milestone or to Android. If it is to do with Verizon therefore it won't apply outside the USA however I want to nail this before commiting
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
     
  6. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Szadzik, I can't answer that. There have been a lot of reports/discussions on the net about Skype on Android Milestones not being able to work via WiFi, but only via the carrier network. It may be something to do with the US Verizon machines. I'm just trying to nail it down.

    Here are some things from the forums here about it:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/193096-skype-wifi.html
    Skype & WiFi - Android Forums
    best way to use skype with wifi - Android Forums
    wifi skype ? - Android Forums
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    1. All these threads are about phones in the US, and these problems do not apply in the UK.
    2. I just tried using Skype over WiFi at home and it worked fine.
     
  8. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok Szadzik, many thanks :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...