Wireless tether for root users stops working after an hour?Support


Last Updated:

  1. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    Let me preface I love this app and am not really complaining, just have something that has come up.

    Anyone else experience it dropping the internet connection or wifi after about an hour? It works great up to that point and doesn't show an error or anything but it just stops communicating. I have to stop tethering and start tethering and its back up again. Its not a huge issue, just something that I would resolve if I could.

    It was happening on pre9 but I upgraded to pre13 and it still happens. Im on Myns RLS3 with Netarchy 4191bfs kernel but it was doing it on the stock HTC #10 kernel that came with Myns.
     

    Advertisement
  2. rkkeller

    rkkeller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    105
    I wonder if its the app or your network?

    When I use it I get about 2m speed at first but then over time it slows to about 1/4 of that and and pretty much stays at that slower speed.

    I always blamed Sprint :> as even if I switch to wired PDAnet its still the slower speed.
     
  3. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    I've had the same results and thoughts. I just figured it was Sprint throttling the bandwidth after a period of time with large amounts being used. Both the phone using wireless tether and my broadband card do it so I just figured it was something they built into the network.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    do you have spare parts? if not grab it from the market, install and open

    scroll down to wifi sleep policy and set to never

    I have seen some phones have this issue when it is set to never while plugged in and android default.

    right now that is all I can think of to check...I'll post back if I think of anything else
     
  5. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    Ill try the spare parts. I dont think its Sprint throttling because IM not really using that much (just occasional email, Sametime, and browsing). Im not torrenting or anything.

    And wifi itself will drop, I cant connect nor does my computer see my SSID until I stop tethering and start tethering again (dont have to reboot the app even).

    I installed spare parts and set the wifi sleep to be (never when plugged), if that doesnt work then I will set to never.
     
  6. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    there has been no evidence that I have seen that indicated sprint would be throttling. when I had the issue the sleep policy change fixed it
     
  7. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I am not exactly sure of what I am looking at there lol...it's an article from a few days after release with a picture out of "playbook" that reports users would see it over the summer....

    I haven't seen or heard of anyone experiencing it and it's now November lol

    for most of us it would be breach of contract on sprints part...as we signed up for unlimited data
     
  9. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    I'm not sure exactly what that is in particular. That was just the first google result that came up. Bandwidth throttling has been praticed since the beginning of the internet. They have to do that so user a doesn't hog it all and leave user b waiting 10 minutes for a 5k webpage to load.

    Not really, no where in the contract does it say at what speed they'll provide you that data at. It would be insane for them to make such an agreement considering all the data speed variables!
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    good point...they provide an average....and as long as they stick withinh the advertised 3g average they would be fine

    I know that they throttle by that means (as a whole) ....what I am referring to is the specific throttling of one particular user...I have never seen that...and add that I guess that doesn't mean that it never happens
     
  11. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    I can't prove it. Just a guess on my part and the same of many other who download/stream large files. You can literally watch the speed hover at 500kbps for an hour and then suddenly it drops to 100kbps for no apparent reason. Disconnect from the network and reconnect. Suddenly you're back to the 500kbps only to have it happen all over again in another hour. Like I said, it's just my guess that Sprint has a way of doing that. Obviously for publicity reasons they'll never admit to it or advertise it. Just something that the bandwidth hogs (myself included) notice!
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I'll definitely look more into it...I'd venture a guess that you and I prolly rank pretty high up there in the bandwidth usage dept.

    and I had a many of days lately that my speeds aren't over 100kbs but disconnecting and reconnecting doesn't have an effect. I have been contributing to network issues

    (using a non data hogging neighbor's phone to test side by side)

    I do recall reading an article on tmobile and their unthrottled access being absolutely killed by a popular app that released earlier in the year I think...wish I could find it
     
  13. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    I have a lot of downtime with work which I primarily pass by streaming movies from netflix. Depending on quality level a 2hour movie seams to stream about 800mb-1gb. I sometimes watch up to 2-3 a day. I realize I'm hogging it and I realize why they would throttle it. I don't have to like it though! Just what I happen to choose to use my "unlimited" for.
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    haha what do you do? I am in the pool biz...which is pretty much dead about right now...so I do sit in the store playing quite a bit
     
  15. takirb

    takirb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    181
    My wireless tether app has been dropping my connection to my laptop this week also. I'm using the pre9 installation. Most of the time it's still picking up a signal on my laptop, but it's dropping the connection and i usually have to turn tethering off/on for it to connect again. I haven't toyed with the Sprint Hotspot feature enough to know if it's the app or not, i really don't care much for the built-in hotspot.
     
  16. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    did you try changing the sleep policy
     
  17. takirb

    takirb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    181
    I haven't, but never needed to before this week. Maybe Myn's ROM changed it from what it was? I'll try that out and see if it makes a difference
     
  18. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    Mine was happening more often but i upgraded to pre13 or whatever the current is and now its only every hour or so. I havent been on it solid enough to know if its made a difference yet. like I said it wasnt a big deal, just figured if I could I would.
     
  19. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I am still using pre9 i think...haven't had issues after changing the sleep policy
     
  20. takirb

    takirb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    181
    it just dropped the connection again this am with the wifi set to never sleep :( I changed over to Sprint Hotspot and i'll test to see if it's a phone or app issue...
     

Share This Page

Loading...