1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 2.3.340 Full SBF Will NOT...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by apavolka, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    work on my phone at all. I run it until it fails and then run the System Only SBF and it works great. Just used this method to come down from GB to get GB root. My phone hates full SBFs haha.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I wouldn't think it would be your phone.. that's oddd. I know it may not fix it but did you try starting from scratch like redownload rsdlite and such?
     
  3. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    have you tried flashing from a linux system?
     
  4. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Yes I did all of that and still no go. Md5 is the same. I dont know what else it could be

    No unfortunately my only linux system is down right now.
     
  5. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    man I don't even know then. You can't get that linux machine back up and running?
     
  6. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Nope. If you want I'll send it to you :p jkjk. I was about to do that with my phone before I found out how to sbf the way I figured out. I screwed up the, get this, booyloader on my pc. It angers me as I have 40gb of music and done movies on my hdd.
     
  7. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    I'm completely new to the pc thing (just did my first build) and using linux. But could you get into your bios and set to boot from a cd? I'm not sure how the bootloader on a computer works. Like if its in the OS or is part of the bios. If its part of the bios then isn't there a way to manually flash a bios file?
     
  8. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    NOOO! thats very unfortunate. Wish I new an easy fix for you :( couldn't you just flash a new BIOS though? I single-boot linux on my mac and that uses the newer EFI instead of BIOS. Though BIOS is used in windows and is supported in newer kernels of linux, EFI is the newer and 'better' (term used loosely) boot loader.

    The bootloader is the BIOS. When you power on the computer the BIOS boots the OS.

    And congrats on your build!! which distribution are you using?? I'm running ubuntu 10.10 :)
     
  9. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    10.10 also. I'm really liking learning my way around linux. the terminal is my newest project. I've got the basics down for it but I think I may need to find some ebooks on linux to get me through it. Lol random forums that I've stumbled upon and lurked on got me through the build and what I know of using bash. Back on topic tho, you suggested flashing a new bios also, could you elaborate on how that's done? I've seen bits and pieces on it and it seems difficult.
     
  10. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Dmiller, buy a linux bible. I'm looking to get one myself. I just moved to linux probably 3 months ago. OS X prior to that.

    Flashing a new BIOS shouldn't be that difficult. Although you will need to have another computer to burn a bootable floppy or CD. To make sure its your BIOS you would probably get this type of message:

    Boot Block Compatible Version Ver .010
    Bad BIOS checksum. Starting BIOS Recovery
    Checking for floppy . .
    Floppy not found
    Checking for CD rom . . .
    CD not found
    Checking for floppy . .
    Floppy not found
    Checking for CD rom . . .
    CD not found

    meaning the BIOS on the motherboard is shot and it's looking elsewhere for a BIOS (in the floppy drive and CD drive). So you could then make a bootable CD with the correct BIOS and then you would put that into your computer and it would throw a message like this:

    Boot Block Compatible Version Ver .010
    Bad BIOS checksum. Starting BIOS Recovery
    Checking for floppy . . .
    Floppy found.
    Reading file "A8N32SLI.ROM" . Completed.
    Start Erasing...
    Start programing . . ./
    Please turn off your system and power on again to get system back.

    Like I stated. Not much background with BIOS systems. But the information in this post I found in this really good thread CORRUPTED BIOS AND HOW TO FLASH IT ? - Asus - Motherboards-Memory
     
  11. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    I cant get it to work for me either. I bricked my phone some how trying to flash to gingerbread. It booted up and went right to the bootloader screen with Err:A5,69,35,00,27.

    When I try to SBF it goes right to fail.

    Someone help!
     
  12. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,963
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,963
    25,367
    3,933
    Male
    Hi,

    Sorry you're having trouble. Please make sure that you have the latest sbf file. You can find it here and go to section four of the tutorial. http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...ide-root-unroot-backup-rom-sbf-overclock.html Let us know. You might want to start your own thread with this so we can see it. Thanks!
     
  13. thirteen113

    thirteen113 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    163
    36
    43
    Student
    Texas
    What operating system are you running? I can't flash full sbfs through windows 7 64-bit.
    There is something to do with the firewalls.

    I have to use my windowsXP system for the process because it fails when
     
  14. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011

    Feb 4, 2011
    1,154
    176
    163
    Im running windows 7 64 bit also. You have to run it as an admin and there's another secret as to why it fails. Ill see if I can find the topic.
    http://androidforums.com/droid-all-...hing-process-0x7100-rsd-lite.html#post1274587
    There, I did this and it worked for me
     

Share This Page

Loading...