1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4G toggle for NFC tags?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by egernant, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. egernant

    egernant Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    154
    13
    38
    I recently bought some NFC tags and have been experimenting with them a bit. I noticed that through the NFC Task Launcher app, there is no option to include a 4G toggle on an NFC tag. I really want to have this since when I'm at work all day, the only thing my phone is doing is receiving emails, so 4G is a waste for me. When I leave I want to be able to turn it back on (along with other "leaving work" tasks I've predetermined).

    I've heard a bit about tasker, could that be a potential solution? I've been hesitant since it costs $5+ and I don't know if I'd have any use for it. If it can program a 4G toggle, what other things can it help do in conjunction with NFC that makes it worthwhile to buy and tackle the supposed learning curve?

    Thanks for the help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. CAMAN

    CAMAN Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    60
    27
    23
    Minnesota
    You might want to try Llama before Tasker. It is free and uses your location (cell towers) to create events based on where you are. It also has many of the same options/uses Tasker has.

    Unfortunately I don't believe any 3rd party app can toggle 4g/3g anymore without root(Security issues).
     
  3. egernant

    egernant Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    154
    13
    38
    I am rooted. Is there a rooted method to have a 4G toggle?

    Also, the NFC Task Launcher app has a section devoted specifically to tasker. I don't care about using location-based tasks because I will be coupling it with NFC.
     
  4. Tagsfordroid

    Tagsfordroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012

    Aug 31, 2012
    21
    6
    16
    Hi, unless you root Android doesnt allow third party apps to control 2G/3G/4G settings...that is why you will find several widgets that take you directly to the settings page where you can manually do that in a second step, but none of widgets do the change themselves. At least none that I know of.

    -tagsfordroid.com
     
  5. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Not sure which version of GNex you have, but on the Sprint version, there is a setting to shut off mobile data - that turns off CDMA/LTE (3g/4g) at the same time.

    Tasker can certainly do that (I have a profile that toggles between wifi/mobile-data based on location), and so should NFC.

    I use the power toggles widget on my home screen and it has an icon just for that. So instead of powering my phone on, swiping my pattern to unlock and then using the NFC tag, I just hit that widget after I unlock my phone (instead of using the NFC tag) - works just as fast - maybe a little faster for me.
     
  6. egernant

    egernant Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    154
    13
    38
    Yup, totally understand. I, however, am rooted and already have widgets to toggle 4G on my phone. I wanted to include it in an NFC tag so I could turn off 4G when I get to work (among other settings, hence why I don't want to do it manually via a widget).

    Also, I don't want to turn off mobile data, just 4G. I still need my phone to have internet while at work, but I'm only receiving emails on it, not doing any heavy lifting. There is no wifi at the office, so 3G is my best choice for saving battery.

    Can anyone confirm if there is a way to toggle 4G through tasker on rooted gnex?

    Thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...