1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

4k M8 OTT TV box help!

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by John Phillips80, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. Tony Laundrie

    Tony Laundrie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017

    Jan 3, 2017
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    I also bought this box recently and do not have some of the addons to watch movies (Primewire, Exodus) so I need to figure out how to drop them into Kodi.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,501
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,501
    11,861
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Probably the internal heat shunting arrangements for the CPU/GPU are inadequate, or even nonexistent. Or even the SoC or RAM or something are substandard B or C grade components, and doesn't perform to manufacturer A grade specs.

    These things are often just thrown together by unknown manufacturers, using the absolute cheapest sources of parts they can get, and have very little QA. I saw some ladies assembling cheapo Android tablets in a shopping mall once.
     
    #52 mikedt, Jan 3, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2017
    Andrew Cole likes this.
  3. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016

    Jun 12, 2016
    463
    158
    108
    Male
    Good luck figuring it all out.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  4. Tony Laundrie

    Tony Laundrie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017

    Jan 3, 2017
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    Ok I guess that the question I need to ask first is where can I get these addons for Kodi.
     
  5. Philkodi

    Philkodi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017

    Jan 2, 2017
    4
    0
    5
  6. Koopakid

    Koopakid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016

    Dec 20, 2016
    21
    8
    26
    Male
    You have to install them yourself either from repository or usb, I'd suggest repository. Here's a link to a website that will show you what you need to do http://theandroidbox.com/category/tutorials/
     
    mikedt likes this.
  7. Tony Laundrie

    Tony Laundrie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017

    Jan 3, 2017
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    Thank you everyone as this all helped. Koopakid after looking over the tutorials I found some new projects Thanks.
     
    Philkodi likes this.
  8. Koopakid

    Koopakid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016

    Dec 20, 2016
    21
    8
    26
    Male
    No problem, if you ever need help feel free to shoot me a pm!
     
  9. gpmalecki69

    gpmalecki69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017

    Jan 12, 2017
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Ok, can anyone tell me why I am having issues logging into Netflix? When I try I keep getting an error message saying unable to connect at the time, try again... Any advice is appreciated.
     
  10. Philkodi

    Philkodi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017

    Jan 2, 2017
    4
    0
    5
    Quick update on my kodi box to those that responded my box was faulty ! Used an old desktop and set kodi up on there and so far so good. :)
     
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,501
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,501
    11,861
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I believe Netflix will only run on approved devices. Suggest you contact their customer service, as to what they support.
     
    #61 mikedt, Jan 12, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  12. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016

    Jun 12, 2016
    463
    158
    108
    Male
    Yep... Kodi works on pretty much everything.
     
  13. espookid

    espookid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014

    Dec 13, 2014
    5
    2
    16
    Male
    Well you have bought quite an old box -which is the one I have ,still .Your problem is that it will struggle with what you seem to want and it is quite under powered for today but you can do some things to help, if you only watch the latest videos you will get sites that run but in this world every day the addons can drop off ,what I suggest is that you watch youtube videos for tweaks as these help the box run better and visit forums to see what is changing ,I have found that in general it is waste of time asking questions because they have answered the same question a thousand times .Watch the tutorials they offer and if you want to install then a guy called Michael Seo gives the easiest and best help but the pixilated pictures are sadly par for the course on a lot of sports links but there are some free good ones and you should get good films but do the tweaks and it will help
     
  14. Andrew Cole

    Andrew Cole Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016

    Jun 12, 2016
    463
    158
    108
    Male
    Amen to that! ;)
     
  15. Richard1s

    Richard1s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017

    Mar 17, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    I have a MXqPRO OTT BOX 4. Recently in the last few weeks after I go to Koki that check movies than go to Exodus I get an error sign that says "Movie Vault error. Check the log for more information. It happens almost every time. Can you help me fix this. It only happens when I use Exodus. Thanks
     
  16. espookid

    espookid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014

    Dec 13, 2014
    5
    2
    16
    Male
    there can be a few things ,You can start by going to maintenance tools and clearing "cache" and "purge packages" .It could be that you are trying to watch something your ISP is blocking or is Geoblocked that means you cannot receive them where you are unless you use a VPN which will make it seem that you are in a different country
     
    mikedt likes this.
  17. Richard1s

    Richard1s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017

    Mar 17, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    Thank you for your above comments. I clear my "cache" and "purge packages" every night before I go to bed. Tried it again and those comments above are still coming up. Now they are coming up on different items like ADDONS, TV Shows, etc. But it seems I can still bring up everything like movies, tv shows and so on. I just cannot figure why the pharse "Movie Vault error. Check the log for errors".
    Thanks so much for your help. Keep in mind I have had this box for about 2 months and the pharse started about 3 weeks ago.And I have little knowledge re the box. Any other help comments would be deeply appreciated. Thanks Richard
     
  18. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,501
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,501
    11,861
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    If it's Exodus, are you in the UK or Ireland, if so could be the illegal pirate sites and streams it uses are being blocked by your ISP, e.g. Sky, BT, Virgin, TalkTalk, etc. You'll need to use a VPN. Or possibly they've been shut-down or seized by the feds.
     
    #68 mikedt, Mar 18, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
  19. Richard1s

    Richard1s Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017

    Mar 17, 2017
    3
    0
    15
    No, I am on the Gulf Coast of Mississippi, Gulfport is the town. Like I said I have little knowledge re the box. Thanks for your help. Anymore suggestions? Richard
     
  20. FATMAN7786

    FATMAN7786 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 21, 2017

    May 21, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Good Evening. I have the OTT M96X. I had it since March and have been impressed up until last week. Everything has become really laggy. Apps report no response and take forever to open. Skype has become almost impossible to use as video has become unstable choppy and pixelated, I have a task killer and cache killer installed but they make no Difference. However, videos play OK and KODI is generally OK. If I was on windoze I would say ram and CPU are at 100%. Box is running warm but not hot. It is Android 6 and Jarvis. An 8 gig flash is installed. I have spent days trying to figure this out, and short of a factory reset I dont know what to do, Any suggestions please
     

Share This Page

Loading...