1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

A Home with ALL apps?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by dewalist, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. dewalist

    dewalist Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    Hi all,
    I posted this in the Eris forum but only got one reply, so I hope I'm not violating a re-posting policy...
    I got my Eris only a few days after playing with an iPod for the first time. Besides the widgets feature, there is an aspect of the iPod interface that I like better than Android. I like how the "Home" of an iPod lists all of the installed apps, but you can move them to different pages to categorize them. With Android, I go through the market and add a bunch of apps, but then I have to go add each one to one of the Home pages.

    So, does anyone know of a Home interface that auto-adds apps when they are downloaded?

    If the answer is "no" then I guess I'll have to put this in the Application Requests forum...

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    1,139
    119
    143
    Student
    Houston, TX
    Just double checking, but do you mean iPhone?

    If so then, as far as I know, there is no app like that. That is one of the great things about Android OS phones, is that you can customize however you want. Some people don't like app icons on their screens at all, and others love to have every single app on their screens.

    The flexibility of Android OS is amazing.
     
  3. dewalist

    dewalist Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    Well, I only played with an iPod Touch but I think it has the same interface as the iPhone does. I'm just surprised no one has tried to copy that particular interface feature.

    I am really enjoying Android - I used to tell people I am waiting for the iPhone to arrive on Verizon, but not anymore!
     
  4. dewalist

    dewalist Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    I may have found a way to accomplish what I'm looking for. Panda Home has a feature that lets you hide icons that show up in the "all apps" window. Once I have put everything I use on their appropriate pages, I can hide ALL of the existing apps. This way, when I do pull up the "all apps" window, it will only show me new apps (the ones I haven't yet gone in and hidden). Once I put a new app on it's page, I can hide it.

    If anyone has a better suggestion, I'm interested to hear it. I would prefer to stay within Sense UI but it doesn't have the "hide" feature...
     
  5. JustDriftin

    JustDriftin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #383
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    119
    14
    58
    None
    On the Road
    After hiding them in Panda Home they don't show up in the regular Home or any other home screen so try your Sense UI again and see if they still show up.
     
  6. dewalist

    dewalist Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    I'm not sure I follow what you mean, but I went through and hid all of the icons in Panda Home and verified the app window was blank. Then I went back to Sense UI (or even the default Home) and I could still see all of the icons in the app window there...

    Now I am thinking in a different direction because I would rather not run two Home apps (since I'm already running Sense UI). I'm looking into a separate app launcher like aLauncher or Advanced Launcher (which doesn't launch). One of them mentioned a pane that would show only new apps...
     
  7. JustDriftin

    JustDriftin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #383
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    119
    14
    58
    None
    On the Road
    You are right, I was wrong. I just hid one or two and didn't see them in my other home screens so I just assumed. I hid all of them and they do show up in the other home screens.

    Sorry.
     

Share This Page

Loading...