1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ADB Help - Device not found

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Simmy88, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. Simmy88

    Simmy88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,

    Bit of a noob at this sort of this. Actually, a massive noob.

    Anywho, Since Gingerbreak isn't working on my phone at the moment, I was advised to download the ADB pack and run the cmd prompt.

    Everytime I try a line of:
    adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/*
    I get: error: device not found

    Although, after browsing other threads, I have also tried: adb kill-server

    Then tried the above line again. On that attempt, I got:
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device not found

    Any suggestions? All I want to do is root my damn phone. Been trying all day!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ILoveMyDroid

    ILoveMyDroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    267
    34
    63
    Make sure you have the right SDK and then do:
    cd ..
    cd ..
    cd and*
    cd tools
    ./adb devices
     
    Simmy88 likes this.
  3. Simmy88

    Simmy88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Haha, you lost me on the first line. What does SDK stand for?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    SDK stands for Software Development Kit. It's the Android SDK. That, or HTC Sync is a prerequisite to the downgrade process. I'd recommend both though.

    Are you connected in Charge Only mode and is USB debugging enabled?
     
  5. Simmy88

    Simmy88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    I am indeed. Since I am running 2.3.3, do I have to go through the whole downgrade process and do I HAVE to have a spare sd card?
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Depends on your Software Version? If it's 2.36.405.8, then no. If you're anything different, then you'll need a gold card.
     
  7. Simmy88

    Simmy88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Mine is different. To be honest, I've found a spare SD card and am currently going down the route of a Goldcard, but everything I try to Paste Write, it says it's Read Only (rest assured, the SD card is not locked). Any ideas?
     
  8. Simmy88

    Simmy88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to be a pain, but nothing I try seems to work. I am trying desperately to root my DHD running 2.3.3.

    I have created my Goldcard and followed ALL guidelines on this forum, but when it comes to ADB, it always states device not found.

    I have tried updating the drivers for Google's USB through SDK, killing the adb server and trying again and nothing works. Anyone know a fix for this or am I just being dim?
     
  9. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    Make sure you have SDK drivers. Also try another USB slot on your computer.

    Make sure USB debugging is enabled
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    From your other thread, I presume the goldcard is now created?

    Looking at your st post, you are entering the text:
    adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/*

    Which guide are you using? These are the correct commands to follow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...