• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Trying to edit hosts file on Bluestacks 5 but can't get adb working...

slicendice

Jan 22, 2014
Hi

I'm not an Android developer by any stretch of the imagination so please bear with me if I'm a little slow on this, but I'm trying to add an entry to the hosts file in Bluestacks 5 (on Windows 10) and I'm not getting very far.

I've rooted it (confirmed with Root Checker) and have downloaded a terminal emulator, but every time I try and edit the hosts file, it just says "hosts is read-only" when I come to save it.

From looking round online, some suggestions are that the filesystem is mounted in read-only mode and needs to be mounted in read-write mode. I found this post that provides what seems to be a decent set of steps and mentions the use of adb. So I've downloaded platform tools from here and unzipped to the PC on which Bluestacks is running (btw I don't have the full Android Studio installed).

The first thing I ran was:
Code:
adb devices

...and it threw an error:
Code:
adb server version (36) doesn't match this client (41); killing...
* daemon started successfully
List of devices attached

However, if I now run the same command again, it no longer throws this error...so I don't know if that's an issue or not?

I've checked in Bluestacks settings and the "Android Debug Bridge" option is enabled and is on 127.0.0.1:52337.

I then tried to connect to this using:
Code:
adb connect localhost:52337

...and it came back with:
Code:
cannot connect to 127.0.0.1:52337: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it. (10061)

Can anyone help with this? Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree? And if so, is there a better way of editing the hosts file?

Thanks

Can anyone help with this? Or am I totally barking up the wrong tree? And if so, is there a better way of editing the hosts file?

Thanks