1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Android Noob - Browser never ends

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by crawrj, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. crawrj

    crawrj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    OK I have never used android before getting the Epic so please don't flame me on this one. Is it normal for the browser to never end on its own? When I exit out of the browser I have to kill it from task manager every time. Is there a way to fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MILcityBOI

    MILcityBOI Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    63
    13
    18
    Pharm Tech
    Milwaukee
    It's just the way Android is designed...Programs that are not in use will eventually be closed when the system needs more Ram....It's just the cycle they work with, now you can just kill it in the task killer and it won't harm anything but it also is standard to keep running in the background.
     
  3. crawrj

    crawrj Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Thank you for the reply and info. I was hoping that wasn't the case since the browser eats up a fair amount of resources while it is left running. But if that is the way it is then that is fine. Just seems like that is the only program on the phone that doesn't auto shutdown one you exit out.
     
  4. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Don't kill tasks.
     
  5. MILcityBOI

    MILcityBOI Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    63
    13
    18
    Pharm Tech
    Milwaukee
    That's a myth that is not always true....The Epic however has enough processor power that is probably won't lag but other Android devices really do require tasks to be killed from time to time or the phone comes to crawl at a snails pace.
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    More times than not though, apps don't need to be killed unless they are poorly developed or have "stuck"


    OP - Try hitting the back button a few times to back out of the app, that'll usually do the trick.

    You could also try Dolphin Browser HD (from the market), as it has an exit button. :)
     
  7. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    It's not always true if you install and run poorly designed apps. I uninstall problem software so I don't need to kill tasks. Android's built in automated task killer does a good job.
     
  8. MILcityBOI

    MILcityBOI Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    63
    13
    18
    Pharm Tech
    Milwaukee
    Try using a Hero without a task killer, LOL...that's fun.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    I do it daily with no problem :) Well... until my upgrade hits at least.
     
  10. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

  11. gme109

    gme109 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    535
    46
    68
    Male
    To stop an app, you just need to use the back button. Or like you said, go the the task manager. I like using the back button, that way I stay on top of killing apps, and save battery life.
     
  12. aminaked

    aminaked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Usually, in my experience, pressing the home button does the same thing as backing out....depends on the app though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...