1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Any new Findings /Fixes or improvements on B08?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HeroLau, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. HeroLau

    HeroLau Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    189
    25
    53
    Here are some my checking results:
    1, Freeze fixed of camera in Spanish;
    2, LCD pops on when text coming in;
    3, last letter remembered in predictive when input;

    More to confirm:
    1, How's the charging issue? the LED stay red on and cannot recover except unpluge battery? I never found this but here so many findings.
    2, Any new finding?:p
     

    Advertisement

  2. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    219
    36
    73
    Male
    Collector
    Pennsylvania
    I did the update OTA, went from 6 to 8, nothing was wiped. So far no problems, but it's early yet
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  3. limited

    limited Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    118
    16
    38
    I did the OTA update today. I never really had any issues with the phone except after continued use it would slow down. I have noticed that the RAM management seems better with the update thus making it run smoother for longer. I use sense analog clock widget to monitor the RAM usage.
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  4. Marknderm

    Marknderm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    138
    32
    53
    Being nosey... LOL
    Altoona, Pa
    How do you get the update, If you don't mind explaining it in detail. please.
     
  5. elmoosh

    elmoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    21
    5
    16
    Los Angeles
    Go to Settings>About Phone>System Updates>Update Firmware.
     
    Marknderm likes this.
  6. limited

    limited Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    118
    16
    38

    Menu> about phone> update> I ran all three but I think all you need is the firmware update. I didn't lose any apps or preferences.
     
    Marknderm likes this.
  7. MrBobo

    MrBobo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,203
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,203
    1,316
    313
    Male
    Business Analyst
    Dimondale, MI
    update keeps failing for me, I am rooted
     
  8. cartersball

    cartersball Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    352
    171
    68
    Male
    Restaurant Manager
    NC
    Are you running update while wifi enabled? 3g only. That's how I got it to work.
     
    Marknderm likes this.
  9. marca

    marca Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    79
    20
    18
    NY, NY
    To answer your questions here's my lil story, I first got phone notice it would freeze on occasion did the first update to B07, freeze issue went away. rooted phone having no further issue happy , for some silly reason figured update to B08 could only be a good thing. Phone froze again while charging, phone froze while off charger. Annoyed and pissed mostly at me but noticed both times Wi-Fi was on, turned it off phone no longer froze. Upon further digging figured it my be Wi-Fi sleep mode causing problem went to " settings-wireless & networks-Wi-Fi settings, menu button, then advanced, Wi-Fi sleep policy, select never."
    It has been over 24hrs on and off charger performing various tasks running apps with no freezing or lagging. hope this helps someone else
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  10. Delvien

    Delvien Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    40
    9
    16
    Less lock-ups, but hasnt gotten rid of all of them.

    When the phone does lock up, it reboots, and is back up in about 15 seconds (soft reboot?)

    An improvement none-the-less...

    Battery life has also improved, spent 15 hours surfing off and on, texting, and checking emails before it was down to 10%.
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  11. Kamau

    Kamau Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    1,036
    117
    163
    Male
    Manufactoring
    S.W. Lower Michigan
    On my tablet, I cannot do an update while its rooted. I have to unroot, then update. As a matter of fact, doing a ota update while still rooted causes more problems than a person really wants.

    As for this update, I have not seen any difference that is noticeable either in performance or looks.
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  12. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    I did the update like as soon as I got the phone open first thing plugged it in and updated so I didn't have to backup anything.. so I cant really tell any differences :p
     
    HeroLau likes this.
  13. Trimbaud

    Trimbaud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    219
    36
    73
    Male
    Collector
    Pennsylvania
    Upgraded. Still FC. <sighs>
     
  14. HeroLau

    HeroLau Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011

    Nov 6, 2011
    189
    25
    53
    OTA on 3g(wifi not works for upgrade)first choice, 2nd use the online update sw as Godraw posted, its also works on rooted phone.
     
  15. Knoxville363

    Knoxville363 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    231
    126
    68
    www.youtube.com/knoxville363
    Chicago, IL
    I have not run a bunch of games BUT the two HD games that I play run a lot smoother with no lag. It may be a coincidence or they fixed it. Just something I tested and wanted to report. BTW the games are the 3D homerun one and Modern Combat 2
     
    Rogobono likes this.
  16. freedomfighter

    freedomfighter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    85
    2
    16
    Nursing Assistant/Nursing Student
    nowhere of importance
    how did you get modern combat 2 to run on the warp?
     
  17. Woodstock77

    Woodstock77 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    382
    260
    88
    Runs great on mine too. I have Brothers in arms 2 HD, lets golf 2 HD, and Modern Combat 2 HD all on the Warp and they run great. When I play them several people say its better than it does on there higher end phones. The settlers HD is the only game so far I have tried that didnt work right. I have not installed chainfire 3d pro yet either.
     
  18. freedomfighter

    freedomfighter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    85
    2
    16
    Nursing Assistant/Nursing Student
    nowhere of importance
    what i meant was where did you download it from
     

Share This Page

Loading...