1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Battery indicator by percentage - 99%

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Taylored, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    I have searched everywhere for a zip that will change the battery indicator to a percentage. Anyone have any ideas or zips?
     

    Advertisement

  2. potterdood

    potterdood Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    567
    26
    68
    Male
    Verizon Wireless Tech Support
    Anderson, SC
    yeah go to the market and get battery indicator, it gives it to you in a %.
     
  3. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    I am trying to find something to replace the stock
     
  4. Minimike

    Minimike Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #599
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    144
    20
    38
    ALL batery indicators are simple voltmeters.
     
  5. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Stock battery meter on the top bar can't be replaced or modified without root. Even with root, we're still waiting on a modified battery meter to be ported over for the Inc.
     
  6. greenrolaids

    greenrolaids Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    484
    78
    53
    Seattle
    just a fyi.. the more polling you do to the battery with a meter, the quicker it will drain your battery..

    Thats why most phones go down in 10% increments.
     
  7. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    I am aware of the restraints in implementing the change and issues that may arise. I am just asking for a zip or an existing ROM I could pull it from.

    Thank you for your thoughts.
     
  8. 8andsand

    8andsand Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    114
    13
    58
    Georgia
    With CyanogenMod-6 you can change the battery icon to show you a %. Thats how I have mine setup. I don't know if this is something you could extract and make work on another Rom.
     
    Taylored likes this.
  9. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    yup, that's what I'm doing. you can even choose the color of the font! :D
     
  10. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    Cool beans.
     
  11. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
  12. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Wasn't that part of the Spare Parts app on Cyanogen for the D1? Have you looked in Spare Parts for the option?
     
  13. Taylored

    Taylored Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    689
    60
    78
    IT Recruiter
    GA
    I did not find anything in spare parts. I was going to sit down this evening and just try to make my own, but I played starcraft2 for 4 hours instead. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...