1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Best Buy Gmail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Blasto, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. Blasto

    Blasto Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Just got a call from Best Buy stating to make sure I have a gmail account before coming in for my appointment so they can get me done faster. Is that a requirement.
     

    Advertisement

  2. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    Not a requirement, tell them to HIT SKIP!
     
  3. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Hmm Yes you need to set up a Google account to set up the phone. When you first turn an android phone on it wants an account and password. Trust me it works out pretty well because all your contacts end up in Gmail. If you ever reset your phone just put int your gmail address and password and you contacts resync to your phone
     
  4. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    You can hit skip? Lol wow I just always plugged mine in. I guess because I use gmail
     
  5. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    22
    38
    yeh u need a gmail account but u dont need bestbuy to set that up its easy to do once u get home
     
  6. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    I don't see how its required. What about the people who will be ordering online? :D
     
  7. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    875
    455
    113
    QA Engineer
    San Diego, CA.
    Well the cool thing about using GMAIL is that you can prepare now to have all your contacts set up....add them pics to the contacts!!!! trust me its cool to boot up a phone for the first time and in about 3.56 seconds you have all your contacts there.......
     
  8. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    Its not required to activate the phone, no. Just don't want you coming back to them when things aren't syncing and the market place isn't working etc
     
  9. bluehaze013

    bluehaze013 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    163
    16
    38
    Makes me glad I pre-ordered from Sprint online LOL I don't wan't anyone setting up my phone except for me!
     
  10. alf1096

    alf1096 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    BB wants that so they can turn your phone on and set it up for you. I for one am going to tell them politely no I will set it up myself.
     
  11. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    22
    38
    i highly recommend getting gmail but thee is no reason for bestbuy to set that up except for android noobs but its easy so i recommend doing it at home and u dont need a gmail account at time of buying cuz its not required at that moment for activation
     
  12. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    I agree! and tell them to leave the protective film on!!
     
    misterzeno likes this.
  13. RiverOfIce

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,715
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    1,715
    1,254
    313
    In exile
    Just tell them to not turn on the phone, to activate it, you are in hurry and do not need their help. Unless you want their help, then bring a gmail account.
     
  14. Blasto

    Blasto Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you for all the quick replies
     
  15. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I agree as well but seeing as all we are doing is sitting and waiting and dreaming for this damn phone we might as well get a gmail account all nice and ready with our contacts so we can immediately have them Friday. Did this the day before I got my hero and it was awesome
     
  16. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    yup, this is exactly what i'm gonna do. go in, let them know that i just need it activated so i can get back to work!
     
  17. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,091
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    2,091
    665
    213
    Male
    ELP Engineer @ National Instruments
    Austin, TX
    they don't have to set the phone up for you, just tell them you gotta run. they DO have to activate your number on it though, which is really just scanning a bar code
     
  18. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    its not required sherlocks don't scare the poor thing!
     
  19. p00kienrayray

    p00kienrayray Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    133
    15
    38
    School Counselor
    Sunny SoCal
    not only do they not need to set it up for you, but they also don't need to know your gmail address and password either.
     
  20. thezlog

    thezlog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    69
    6
    16
    Yeah it will be nice. I already use push calendar, contacts, and e-mail with gmail on my iphone, and so does my wife; it should be an in and out trip.
     
  21. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    I'm surprised BB isn't charging a $50 fee for "Geek Squad phone setup". lol
     
  22. joeyv69ragtop

    joeyv69ragtop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    16
    1
    36
    Developer
    Buffalo, NY
    No kidding, considering they will have increased staffing in the mobile phone department and each appointment is up to 30 minutes, though they told me 15 minutes should be enough.
     
  23. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    218
    50
    53
    Heh, I just received a text from my local BB where I preordered from telling me to have a gmail account ready because "We are expecting a high volume of customers and this would help speed up the process".
    I'll have no problem telling them I'll set it up my own saving them a lot of time :D
     
  24. jason.sgtski

    jason.sgtski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    telecom specialist
    aberdeen md
    I am pretty sure this courtesy is for the new to android customer. This will be my first android phone but i am pretty sure i can handle setting it up.
    What about a 25$ charge to have them bind your new bluetooth headset to your phone.
     
  25. Jedson29

    Jedson29 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    31
    6
    16
    Yeah, I work in Best Buy Mobile and I always ask first, if not, then I hit skip so they can enter it in later. Most people just want their phone right there and then.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...