1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Brick won't turn on.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shuichiro, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Hi everyone.

    After rebooting my phone, after applying avast mobile security my phone will not power on. Tried changing batteries, no go. Thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    just to get some more info so other will jump in

    is the phone all stock? or r u running a custom rom

    the phone no longer boots, does it show anything at all?, splash screen? boot animation?


    also whenever i pull my battery i like to leave it out for about a minute, if you have ever had the phone freeze up on you before you'd see that sometimes the phone holds onto info if u only do a quick battery pull/replace, normally leaving it out for about a minute will clear that
     
  3. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Running Dark Minimilist (or Cyanogenmod 7).

    Phone shows no animation. Screen will not turn on. Tried leaving battery out for ten minutes and putting it back in with no result. Phone does not seem to want to charge battery.
     
  4. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)


    hmmm... i found this person with a different phone but almost the same issue on XDA here
    Stuck in bootloop (avast) - xda-developers

    from google searching ive seen a few posts that people are having the same types of issues altho different from yours when installing avast

    the one issue someone had that made sense was upon the install and reboot of avast, the anti-virus saw the non-stock boot animation zip as a bad file and deleted it, this would cause the phone to no longer boot up

    will it go into download mode, after your 1 minute battery pull, hold power and vol down, a pc looking message should appear "downloadmodepoll=1" or something, i cant remember all of it


    but if your phone is absolutely not responding at all to anything, you could have coincidentally had a hardware failure at the sametime, its just odd how it has seemed to unfold for you
     
  5. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    I agree the timing is strange for a hardware failure, but my guess would be that. I figured that system files had been overwritten, so I tried download mode right away. The phone will not charge nor will it turn on for boot or download.

    Unless I can get some kind of access to it, I would think it would need replaced.

    Still, because of the timing it would be nice to know what happened to leave it in this state.
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Take the battery out, make sure it isn't plugged in and hold the power button down for 20-30 seconds. Then put the battery back in. Now try to boot to recovery by holding down the Power, Volume Up, and Volume Down simultaneously until the phone vibrates.

    Let me know if that works at all.
     
  7. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)

    yes, i myself am very curious about this to, since your getting absolutely nothing Hardware is the first thing to come to mind, but after some of the posts i read the antivirus deleting or quaranting the bootanimations.zip from the custom rom seems like the most logical

    someone else with much more info then me may jump in here, or may know whats up, but so far what your describing seems to me like a replacement is your only option

    lol i spoke to late lol agent, someone with much more info then me is already here lol
     
  8. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    agentc - no dice what so ever
     
  9. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Is the battery charged?
     
  10. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    it was when the phone failed.
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Try taking the battery out and holding the power button again and seeing if it will boot normally (even if the result is a bootloop).
     
  12. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    agentc - nopers.
     
  13. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Alright, I would guess that either your battery mysteriously died in this process, or some hardware went out. Try calling VM and telling them your issue (that you added the app and the phone now will not boot or turn on). They will either help you fix it, or send a replacement.
     
  14. Shuichiro

    Shuichiro Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012

    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Got a hold of Motorola and scheduled a repair/replacement. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...