1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I tether a Xoom using a wire?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by veccster, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    Other than changing settings or rooting, can I tether my phone to my Xoom using a wire?

    I don't need to be wireless, I just need to get internet on my wifi xoom.

    thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    The dinc is old news and gets little support on forums like this. I still think its one of the best phones out there.

    My search continues for an answer.
     
  3. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,810
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    1,810
    550
    223
    IT god
    B'more
    Or no one knows the answer...

    My guess would be no, as far as I know all the tethering programs are designed to work with windows,mac,or linux OS's.

    The only way I would know to do what you're asking is wirelessly, using a program like "wireless tether" on a rooted Dinc.
     
  4. Az Scooter

    Az Scooter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    55
    1
    36
    Or search for a method to wirelessly tether on this very forum. Fast, easy, and it works.
     
  5. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    To expand on what Crashumbc said, it's going to be more of an issue on the host (tablet) side of the system, then on the client (phone) side. You're best off asking the question on a Xoom forum.

    You could check to see if easy tether, pdanet, or some other tethering program the market has the feature you're looking for. After reading your second post, I'm not that interested in going out of my way (more than I already am, taking my free time to help answer your question).
     

Share This Page

Loading...