1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

corrupted update 1 tmobile - redownload?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nx1977, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Update 1 downloaded, yet only gets 1/2 way and the I get the exclamation symbol.

    It seems to retry installing whatever it downloaded which fails everytime.

    Where is the file so I can delete it and get the hero to download a fresh? Phone is stock t-mobile unrooted
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    Go to the HTC UK support site and download the 2.73.110.26 ROM from there and install it. Then the G2 update will work. The 2.73.110.26 update that T-Mobile published has a bug in it which does not allow the OTA to install.

    The version numbers are the same - go figure...

    The OTA will then take you to 2.73.110.91

    Edit: get it here
     
  3. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Will this wipe the phone, or just add the update?
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Yes, you will factory reset when you install the 1.5 ROM. So you will have to backup anything on the phone like texts, apps and so on.

    SD card and anything backed up online will be safe.
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Will wait for the full 2.1 update to get posted by HTC then
     
  6. mgillespie

    mgillespie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    243
    13
    38
    Glasgow, Scotland
    That won't help you.

    You can't use the HTC ROMs, only the T-Mobile ones, and you won't get part 2 without getting part 1.
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    HTC would still publish T-Mobile's updates on their website.

    However, I wonder why we haven't seen any 2.1 PC installers? Will we ever see them? It seems a much easier way of doing things than messing around with OTA updates.
     
  8. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    OTA, true.

    But if they offer up the full ROM as with this update, then you wont need the 1st update ;)

    2.1 part 2 is a full wipe even OTA is it not?
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    No, the OTA updates seem to leave the majority of things, including apps, texts and so on, in tact.
     
  10. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    There is another option - look at this thread on the XDA Developers forum
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...