1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Couple of Backflip questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jrstinkfish, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    294
    41
    43
    Hey guys. Just bought a Backflip to replace my mother's Samsung Eternity. I was hoping to get it all set up for her before I drive to see her next week down in Dallas, but it appears I need a SIM card to go any further than emergency calls. My guess is that this is due to having to set up Motoblur. Is there any way to set it up without one, get past the emergency call screen to set up a WiFi connection? I am with Sprint so I don't have an AT&T SIM to use.

    I thought about going to an AT&T store to see if they have one to stick in there to at least get it started. But I suppose that is contingent on it being able to function without a SIM after the initial setup.

    Any ideas?

    BTW -- looks like a neat phone, she is going to love finally having a keyboard, and a huge one at that.
     

    Advertisement

  2. maciel310

    maciel310 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    47
    12
    18
    Not sure if this will work on the Backflip since they customized the setup screen for Blur, but you could try what is described in this video: YouTube - Android Quick Tip: How to bypass the "Touch the Android to Begin" setup

    Basically you tap the four corners of the screen and it will skip the setup taking you to the home screen. I saw this video long after I had set up my device, so I have no idea if it will work, but it is worth a shot. Also, if that doesn't work try pressing the Menu button to see if there is any way to enable WiFi from the configuration screen.

    As far as functioning without the sim, it should be able to do that without any problem.
     
  3. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    294
    41
    43
    Thanks. It wouldn't even get that far, just stayed on the Emergency Dial screen. What I wound up doing was having my friend take the SIM from his iPhone and stick it in the Backflip. It then booted right to the Motoblur registration page. We set that up, set up the Wifi, and when the SIM card was removed, the phone booted normally.
     
  4. Jadelance08

    Jadelance08 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I wanna add up, have you encountered this issue. "Device Blocked" can't seem to activate the phone using the SIM card with AT&T.

    I did a master reset & hard reset on the phone but it is still the same.

    Your help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!
    Gerald
     
  5. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    294
    41
    43
    Maybe your SIM card is locked? Too many attempts to unlock a phone will do that. Might see if your local AT&T store can help you out there.
     
  6. maciel310

    maciel310 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    47
    12
    18
    Also, did you get this phone through a company such as AT&T or AmazonWireless, or did you purchase it from a person such as on eBay? It is possible that the phone was reported stolen, and the IMEI number has been blocked.
     

Share This Page

Loading...