1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Data and Cache errors, downgraded to 2.2 and now stuck in bootloop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tbogs, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. tbogs

    tbogs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Let me start by saying I'm new to posting on these forums. I've been flashing roms now for over 7 months and have enjoyed it immensely.

    The other day I ran into a problem that I've never had before. I was running Nil's 3.5 rom which is a great rom, and installed the V6 Supercharger Script (also great) to see how it would work with the rom. I installed everything, had V6 working and was prompted by V6 to change I believe it was /data and /cache files. I thought ok there shouldn't be a problem. So I ran V6 and everything seemed to run with no problems. Then things got a bit laggy so I decided lets try and uninstall V6 and see if that helps. V6 restored my settings that were backed up, and I uninstalled V6. I decided at this point to do a complete wipe and reflash the rom. This is when I encountered my problem.

    I reboot the phone into recovery mode: (Using the lastest clockworkmod recovery)

    wipe data factory reset
    wipe cache partition

    I go under mounts and storage, format
    /boot
    /system
    /datadata
    /data
    /cache

    I get an error stating "error formatting /data" and "error formatting /cache".

    I am unable to restore any backups that I had already made because I receive this error message. When I install a new rom, I receive bootloops. The only rom that works, is Nils 3.5 rom that is still stuck on the phone, and when that loads, nothing works properly. I cannot download apps, the apps already installed force close on me.

    I decided to try downgrading to the official 2.2 stock version with S-On with hopes of trying to start from scratch and now I am stuck in bootloops. The phone goes to the red eye, pauses for about 20 seconds and reboots. I have no clue on what to do. Now I am asking myself, did I brick my phone? Any help, suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Did you check the md5 for the PB31IMG.zip file you used? Definitely double check it and try installing again.

    Did you turn s-on?
     
  3. tbogs

    tbogs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks for the response. I have checked the md5 and everything checks out. I will try to install it again and yes I was able to turn s-on.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    Was actually hoping you didn't turn s-on, you'd have more options. Too late now though.
     
  5. tbogs

    tbogs Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011

    Nov 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    That's what I was afraid of...I'm assuming now there is nothing I can really do. Thanks anyways.
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    i'd keep trying to flash that PB31IMG.zip file
     
  7. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    I have the same problem but I have s-off......need help! :(
     
  8. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    Have you tried flashing the PB31IMG.zip file?
     
    afastyzfr1 likes this.
  9. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    Yep, the Froyo and GB RUU and both pb31img.zip. Also tried to fix partitions using adb. Phone is rooted, s-off, running 2.3.4 Stock Plus Rom and turns on but I cannot erase any data and gets random force closes.
     
  10. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    What do you mean you can't erase any data? Does the phone boot up completely?

    You've tried doing a full wipe with clockwork recovery and nothing is erased when you boot up?
     
    afastyzfr1 likes this.
  11. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    Exactly....really weird

    Phone boots up with all my data still on the phone after a full wipe. Has a few force closes, but it is up and running and connected to my wifi since I activated another phone on my line.
     
  12. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    Here is some of what we did with adb. Had a buddy on another forum help me but we are stuck.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\David>cd c:\

    c:\>cd android-sdk-windows

    c:\android-sdk-windows>cd platform-tools

    c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    HT133HJ05382 recovery


    c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>adb shell
    ~ # e2fsk -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsk -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    /sbin/sh: e2fsk: not found
    ~ #
    c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>adb shell
    ~ # e2fsck -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1: recovering journal
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

    ~ # e2fsck -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    e2fsck -fy /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p2: recovering journal
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

    ~ # e2fsck -fy -b 163840 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck -fy -b 163840 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1: recovering journal
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

    ~ # e2fsck -fy -b 163840 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck -fy -b 163840 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1: recovering journal
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

    ~ # e2fsck -fy -b 98304 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck -fy -b 98304 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1: recovering journal
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

    ~ # e2fsck -fy -b 32768 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck -fy -b 32768 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    e2fsck 1.41.6 (30-May-2009)
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1: recovering journal
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Recovery flag not set in backup superblock, so running journal anyway.
    e2fsck: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/block/mmcblk0p1

    ~ # mke2fs -j -J size=4 -O ^resize_inode,ext_attr,dir_index,filetype,sparse_supe
    r /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    mke2fs -j -J size=4 -O ^resize_inode,ext_attr,dir_index,filetype,sparse_supe
    r /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=4096 (log=2)
    Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
    48672 inodes, 194560 blocks
    9728 blocks (5%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=0
    Maximum filesystem blocks=4194304
    6 block groups
    32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
    8112 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    32768, 98304, 163840
    ~ # mke2fs -j -J size=4 -O ^resize_inode,ext_attr,dir_index,filetype,sparse_supe
    r /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    mke2fs -j -J size=4 -O ^resize_inode,ext_attr,dir_index,filetype,sparse_supe
    r /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=1024 (log=0)
    Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
    51200 inodes, 204800 blocks
    10240 blocks (5%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=1
    Maximum filesystem blocks=262144
    25 block groups
    8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
    2048 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    8193, 24577, 40961, 57345, 73729
    ~ # exit
    exit

    c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools>
     
  13. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    Any one have any suggestions?
     
  14. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    What were you trying to accomplish with those adb commands?
     
    afastyzfr1 likes this.
  15. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    I was trying to fix internal partitions. The above adb commands was just the tail of what I did. I was following a thread on another forum about a similar issue and was getting help from a senior member on here but we are stuck.

    Basically I tried to downgrade phone from 2.3.4 to stock and it didn't go so well. I followed 2 of the sticky threads on here on the downgrade process.

    I can currently boot phone up in rooted 2.3.4 GB Stock Plus Rom but it has random force close errors and I cant delete any data/programs. If I download a new program through the market, it's gone when I restart the phone. I can get into hboot and clockwork. I have tried to flash Froyo and GB img and even run the RUU's for both but that doesn't work. Froyo just bootloops and GB still has my data on the phone with endless force closes. I cleared data/cache ect every time and clockwork says that it worked.
     
  16. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    Fixing the partitions is definitely the last resort step, if you couldn't get that to work, your phone may be done for.
     
  17. afastyzfr1

    afastyzfr1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    81
    2
    16
    Awesome.


    Got one other thing to try in adb but says it can severely corrupt things......guess that's worth a try, haha.
     

Share This Page

Loading...