• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help data usage widget

Dear OP,

I am having same problem on my rooted HTC Incredible. Here's what I did, which I believed CAUSED the problem, and what I intend to TRY to solve the problem.

First, let me first acknowledge my absolutely noobness, noobity, noobification and/or any other term to describe just what a moron I am on Android devices. I am a PC technician by trade, but when it comes to Android, well, let's just say that I anticipate that my belov'd HTC Droid Incredible will likely die an un-natural death at my own hands while attempting some far-fetched hack. But I digress...

Using Titanium Backup Pro (the only software I have paid for in the last 20 years), I forcefully un-installed some bloatware from my DInc, including City ID, Amazon MP3, etc... Worked like a charm. Then, I uninstalled Verizon Data Usage widget/app. Still good at this point. Next is where I think I made the mistake, though I could be totally wrong, but I then uninstalled "V Cast Apps Manager." It was then, that I instantly noticed the repetitive notification in my notification bar, that "A new data usage app is now available! Simply long click..." yada, yada, yada...

I get the notification about once an hour.

I assumed that simply re-installing the damn data usage app would fix it, but nope, notifications persisted. I went back into Titanium Backup Pro (TBP) and tried to find the V Cast Apps app in the market, but the app does not exist in the Google Market.

My next idea (haven't gotten that far yet) is to find the install file for said V Cast Apps app within my drop box account (note: TBP created a backup of all my apps and data files, and placed them on a website called drop box, so I should be able to re-install it, assuming my giant noobies don't get in the way).