1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Do You Have the "Silent Phone Bug?" Please List Your Apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Frisco, May 20, 2010.

  1. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Let's see if those of you with the "Silent Bug" in 2.1 have apps in common, please.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    I had it in "leak v3" without ANY third-party apps (right after a factory reset). So there. :p
     
  3. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    That's amazing.

    Not that you had the bug under those circumstances, but that you kept a phone that isn't functioning as a phone.

    I'm truly puzzled by that, not as much with you leakers as with the OTA users reporting this huge issue.

    I honestly thought it was a small number of users, but it's wide spread, it appears, and they're keeping the devices instead of returning them, and, again, their telephones don't work. :thinking:

    Anyway, we've seen app related issues often enough that I thought a commonality may be there for this one too. Probably not, if what you experienced is not from a stock application. And that would be not only unlikely, but almost impossible to track down unless people are willing to try turning off apps one by one and testing their phones over a long time; not realistic.
     
  4. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Oh, I didn't keep it. I'm on my replacement now. :) I only kept it long enough to confirm that people were getting the bug on the OTA, so I knew it wasn't my own fault.

    One of the last things I did before returning it was a factory reset, because I knew Verizon would ask about that when troubleshooting the problem with me. As it happened, right after doing the factory reset and reactivating the phone, I got a phone call (from Verizon, actually). And after that phone call, the phone went silent! It was very convenient timing.

    PS - I like your new avatar.
     
  5. boleap

    boleap Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    24
    2
    16
    I have a replacement now, after having the silent bug on 2.1v1, 2 and 3. 100% convinced it's a hardware thing. I have had no issues with my replacement so far after 2 days.

    On a side note, there lurks the 50% bug...Muwahhaaahhhhaaa!! :)
     
    thenestor likes this.
  6. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Had the bug on a virgin install of leak 3 with no apps at all...definitely hardware related!
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    It looks like we're back to the quality control issue at the point of assembly or manufacture.
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Way to go.

    I trust the replacement Eris has not shown the same bug.
     
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Not yet! :eek:
     
  10. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Agreed!
     
  11. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Interesting that it could be a hardware problem. But why is it that it never happened in 1.5? If it was hardware, you would think that it would happen regardless of the software. Its happened to me once in the OTA, and never happened again. But I'm going to have to return my phone soon anyway because of the trackball/USB problem.
     
  12. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    My theory is that it did happen, but the 1.5 OS had a different reaction. For instance, random reboot. I know that there were reports (on Google Code) of random reboots on the G1, in which the last items logged before the reboot were the same exact errors we get logged when the audio loss bug occurs:

    Code (Text):
    1. W/AudioTrack(   32): obtainBuffer timed out (is the CPU pegged?) user=00000102, server=00000002
    Issue 1430 - android - G1 reboots during calls - Project Hosting on Google Code
     
  13. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Without elaborating too much, we've deduced that it is a hardware related issue based on the fact that we have no evidence to the contrary and nobody could reproduce it with specific setting, app or configurations. Root users saw it too.

    That being said, 2.1 may have "woken up" the bug but we simply cannot find any commonality!

    Here is a link to the thread that has been running on this topic for a while. Search on thenestor and myself on that thread to see some of the steps we took to try and replicate or cause the bug...

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-...en-phone-goes-silent-multiple-times-week.html
     

Share This Page

Loading...