1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Dropped Calls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HeatherWestie, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. HeatherWestie

    HeatherWestie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    9
    2
    6
    new member , here... I have had some problems sinse the update. I was on the phone today and had the phone drop out 5 times.I have had the silent call issue but thought i was over it.After I was on the phone tonight and ,dropped the cal 5 times ,I was upset and called Verizon. Tech asked me to jump through all the hoops, Hard reset, all that crap, ben there and done that wont fix it. . I wanted a new phone, told me it would coust 150.00 more to upgrade. I have been a customer for close to 14 yrs,they are up grading me for free. they opted to ship me a new Incredible, which if I have the same problem will ship back. I didnt recieve the fix , that is supposed to be on the way, yet
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jareris

    Jareris Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    70
    1
    16
    LA
    I am right with you. I've had the same exact problems and am fed up. Ever since the update I've been having more dropped calls, lack of 3g coverage and the phone is crazy laggy. I hope the droid INC solves your issues. I'm already on Eris #2 and I don't know what to do. Keep us posted on how it works out for you.
     
  3. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Did you perform a factory data reset after the update? That has made a significant difference on the performance of many forum members here.
     
  4. Jareris

    Jareris Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    70
    1
    16
    LA
    Indeed I did. Did it twice as a matter of fact. All the issues surfaced after the 2.1 update.
     
  5. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    And the factory reset was done after the 2.1 update? Is it dialer lag or just overall laggyness?
     
  6. Jareris

    Jareris Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    70
    1
    16
    LA
    Both. Before the update, i never had any issues that I am having now. There was lag before, so I can't blame the update on that. My 3g service toggles to 1x frequently now when before I always had excellent coverage. Ok enough of my whining. Just want a phone that works!
     
  7. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Ah, okay. I think the step of performing the factory data reset is thought to be "critical" after the 2.1 update especially. I would recommend it, and in my opinion it will improve your overall experience significantly. There are many options for backing the various types of data, so it's almost painless. Google contacts would be re-synced automatically, and you can backup applications using Astro. Just my opinion, but it has been met with a lot of positive feedback.

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/80233-factory-data-reset-option.html
     
  8. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Hello Heather. Welcome to the forums.

    It looks like you've tried the factory data reset already and that had no effect on the issues. That right there would cause me to do what you did: call or perhaps go in to the store as soon as I could.

    I'm glad they agreed to send you a new device; and I hope it is a good one.

    I was wondering at what point you first did a factory data reset. Was it when you began to encounter the problems? Or was it right after the OTA came to your device (as a last step in the installation of the OTA)?
     

Share This Page

Loading...