1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Facebook and Linux

Discussion in 'Computers' started by saptech, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    I'm having a problem with Facebook using SalixOS & Firefox 10. When I log in, I only get the top menu bar with the search function, Home, & Log out portion. If I click the Home button, it brings up a blank screen. No matter what I click, I get a blank screen.

    Is anyone else having this type of issue? I only visit FB about 1-3 times a month. Last time I went it worked, which was maybe in the middle of January.

    Thnx.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,872
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,872
    1,767
    633
    /home/
    No issues here ... I've been on Ubuntu, Fedora, with firefox and facebook. I'll try it in a minute on my debian ....

    Do you have custom stylesheets or ad blockers (which I can't imagine would interfere that much with those parts of facebook...)
     
    saptech likes this.
  3. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Yes, I have adblocker but I've had it for the longest without issues. I do believe there was something about changes with adblocker also but didn't follow it.

    Thnx.
     
  4. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,872
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,872
    1,767
    633
    /home/
    I tried it on epiphany in debian (not really what you were after :p) and it was working fine, just if I scrolled too fast some lines (those that separate posts) would pop up...

    I'd maybe check on adblocker with FF10 - maybe someone out there knows more. And maybe there is some part of facebook that has been blacklisted or something in that setup..?
    :thinking:
     
    saptech likes this.
  5. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Hmmm, I just tried it with Epiphany also and it's working. So yes, maybe it does have something to do with adblocker and/or FF 10. I'll look into it.

    Thnx.
     
    9to5cynic likes this.
  6. Isthmus

    Isthmus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    770
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    770
    119
    93
    LM11 and chrome. works perfectly.
     
  7. saptech

    saptech Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,761
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Well I don't know what happen but FF was upgraded to version 10.1 and now it works with FB.

    Thnx.
     
    linuxrich likes this.
  8. linuxrich

    linuxrich Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012

    I had a similar experience with Iceweasel 9 on my netbook. It worked fine with FB except when I was online tethered with my phone. That scenario resulted in the same kind of blank page you experienced. I'll grab IW/FF 10 at the soonest opportunity.
     
  9. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,872
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,872
    1,767
    633
    /home/
    Sorry, I went to try Iceweasel on Debian, but they only have up to version 3.X.X in the repos that I'm using.... so that won't be any help :/

    Anyway, good to know that a) the problem happens to more than one person and b) the problem is fixed by using an updated version of the program.
     
  10. linuxrich

    linuxrich Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012

    I get my Iceweasel from the Mepis community repos... ;->
     
  11. linuxrich

    linuxrich Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012

    As an experiment, I decided to try the browsers I have installed on my netbook to see which ones work with FB while tethered to my phone. Results are:
    Iceweasel - no (From Mepis repositories.)
    Rekonq - no
    Konqueror - yes

    :-/
     

Share This Page

Loading...