1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Facebook issues (pairing, authorization, contacts)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by like2eatpie, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. like2eatpie

    like2eatpie Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Hi All,

    Just got my new HTC One (UK VF)

    Why cant i link a contact to FB? In my contacts screen i may have a contact nuerous times, it seems for all of their different accounts, phone number, email, fb etc. I try to link the phone number to facebook account but nothing happens?! Everything was fine on my One S now i am tearing my hair out! :mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. gonowhere

    gonowhere Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    350
    147
    88
    Norfolk, VA
    Assuming you have already checked your FB settings?
     
  3. karice73

    karice73 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013

    Jun 6, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I just got mine today and having the same problem. I've gone through the same steps with multiple entries and it links a few contacts, but most it does not.
     
  4. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Hi, I am having trouble with Facebook on my new phone. When I first got the phone I could sign in and view Facebook but not update status or upload pictures. If I opened it thru the web browser instead of the app I could. Now I can't access facebook with the app OR thru Internet browser. Thru the app all I get is a no network connection message and thru the web browser I get web page not available message. Even if I google "Facebook". It is very frustrating because my account works fine on my iPad and computer. Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks
    Cory
     
  5. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #84
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,829
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,829
    1,451
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    go into the phone settings >system updates>update profile, update the profile and then try again
     
  6. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    can you use other apps, such as youtube app for example?

    what carrier are you on?

    is this occuring on wifi AND cellular?
     
  7. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    I don't see an option for system updates. the problem is only with facebook, everything else works fine. wifi, cellular neither will work. Tried to uninstall the app and start over but it is a factory app and I cant delete it.
     
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    what carrier are you on?
    settings and scroll to the bottom to see system updates. this may depend on your carrier.

    if you cant reach facebook.com from the browser, try another browser. does not make sense that you can not reach facebook.com from your browser but you can reach other websites just fine...

    must be something you are missing.

    maybe go to the android app store and uninstall the facebook updates and try an older version...
     
  9. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    this message just came up. Authorization problem. Please authourize HTC Sense to access your facebook account. Once your HTC Sense is authorized you can read and post updates in people, gallery and calendar"
    Sounds simple enough but I can't figure out how to authorize HTC Sense.
    Any thoughts?
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    htc sense needs to be a go between to get your crackbook info and to post it on blinkfeed, etc.

    there should have been a box to popup allowing you to give permission.

    modified the subject title...
     
  11. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    there was no pop-up boxes, I am doing a system update now, hopefully it helps
     
  12. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    what happens when you logout of facebook, remove all data from the apps tab (settings/apps) then re-login again?

    yes there is a box to authorize as I have had to do it on this model and previous htc models. maybe not a "popup" box per se, but there is a box to check that shows up when you first log into the htc facebook app....
     
  13. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,778
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,778
    1,285
    323
    Quick tip: Not to confuse this situation anymore, but I highly recommend a backup of your contacts in 'People' before authorizing Bookface if you have not already (In the menus it is something like: People -> Menu -> Manage Contacts -> Import/Export) Before you know it, your social contacts could be added to your phone book, could be duplicated, and could be synced to your Google account. It should be a simple toggle to turn them on and off but in case you want a hard copy you should probably get it beforehand.
     
  14. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    for some reason I can now use facebook when connected to wifi only. when out of range of wifi it says "network error"...
    very frustrating..
    thanks for everyones help thus far
     
  15. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    "out of range"?? :thinking:

    do you have a cellular connection when not in wifi coverage? if so, are you able to use the youtube app to look at videos? can you do any other data services (skype? instant messenger apps, etc)?

    what carrier are you on? if you are on a gsm carrier, verify your sim card and account is setup correctly.
     
  16. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    everything works except facebook, Netflix, you tube, google, etc... facebook worked for about 2 weeks then all these messages popped up
     
  17. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
  18. WarningU2

    WarningU2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Male
    IT Professional
    Canada
    I had exactly the same issue with the HTC One S my wife just received from Bell Canada (or Mobility)

    I resolved it by going to Google Store - search for Facebook and getting the new app for Android. It updated the installed phone version and it hooks up the HTC Sense account fine now.

    Just sharing ... hope this helps.

    Also ... just remembered that I had to enable install from unknown sources too.
     
  19. whchahine

    whchahine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013

    Sep 2, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Hi all,

    i still Have the sense Authorization Problem on Facebook:(HTC One)

    what i did:

    - update the android version
    - update to the last Facebook version
    - Force Stop + clear Data of facebook and facebook for htc sense + restart
    -i went to my facebook account settings> Apps> make sure platform is on
    - even i removed the facebook sense from the facebook,

    and when i tried to login again i followed the procedure..it didn't work ..

    last thing i did:
    Hard Reset my phone...updates...

    still have the problem.

    note that the twitter sense works normally, and the facebook as application also works normally.

    i appreciate any new ideas, cause am out of :S
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  20. philc387

    philc387 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Female
    HTC one x plus and I have had the same problem since I received the Sense 5 update. I've tried everything and nothing has worked. The 'authorisation problem' is in the top left and my contacts' photos are all blurry. I'm out of ideas now and not best pleased. I've turned off my Facebook for HTC sense notifications for now which at least takes the annoying notification away. There are a few other people with the problem it seems. Fingers crossed for a fix soon.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,888
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,888
    3,621
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    nothing will happen unless you open a ticket with HTC. This is not an official HTC forum so they will not know if you just post here. :)

    they have excellent customer service and the more tickets on the issue, the faster they can see it as being an "issue" and work on a fix.
     
  22. philc387

    philc387 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Female
    Hi, thanks, that was going to be my next step but I'd heard mixed reviews about how good they are. I've opened a ticket with them now so will post again when they reply.

    I've just rang HTC and spoken to a guy who said that my only option really is to send my phone off to them for repairs. He said that it sounds like a software issue and that they would reinstall the software on the phone which should fix it. I'm reluctant to send it away however as I'm not sure I can be without my phone and I'm also concerned that they'd charge me a lot to do it. Is there any way that I could reinstall the software myself? I know it's risky but I'm willing to give it a try if it means not sending the phone away. Thanks for your help
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  23. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    706
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    706
    178
    93
    IN, USA
    When I first got my phone Facebook pushed notifications just fine. It would make a noise and the notification light would blink. About a week ago I disabled the Facebook app because it wouldn't let me uninstall it. Yesterday I decided to re-enable the app and updated it to the latest version. Ever since then Facebook will not push a notification and I have to actually open the app to see if I have any messages. I've tried disabling the app again and clearing app data, but that didn't help. Any suggestions?

    I'm running stock Android 4.2.2 on my Verizon HTC One.
     
  24. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #154
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Do you receive push notifications for other apps?

    Have you accidentally disabled autosync?

    Have you checked in the apps settings to make sure that notifications are enabled?
     
    Banished Angel and marctronixx like this.
  25. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    706
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    706
    178
    93
    IN, USA
    Yes.

    No.

    Yep. Notifications are enabled, but they don't push for some reason.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...